Furman University home page
Loading...
HSC 201: Research & Evaluation in HSC: Home
Quick Links
- PubMedThe premier database for biomedical and health sciences literature. It also includes nursing, dentistry, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. This link includes the Furman Full Text button on records for full-text access.
- UlrichsWebProvides detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types, including scholarly/trade/popular, peer-review status, and indexing.
- MeSH DatabaseFind the medical subject headings for the layman's terms you want to use in your search.
Class Resources
- Anatomy of an APA Citation PPTPowerPoint shown in class to walk you through how to formulate an APA citation.
- Anatomy of an APA Citation WorksheetA worksheet you can fill out while we go through the class exercises or later if you reference the APA citation PPT.
- Dissect Your Research Topic (Class example AND Blank Form)This has the class example and a blank worksheet all-in-one.
- IMRaD HandoutA handout that will help you decide if a source is primary (original research) or secondary (review article).
- Scientific Sources - Best Use HandoutA handout that will help you choose sources based on their audience, content/purpose, and format.
Health Sciences Resources
- Getting StartedDefinitions, background, and more for getting started.
- BooksDetailed information and analysis in print and online ebook formats.
- PubMedQuick link guide to the PubMed tab where you can access PubMed and MeSH from Furman Libraries.
- Related DatabasesInterdisciplinary databases for issues that may need biological or physiological sources not found in PubMed.
- Peer ReviewHow peer review is defined, how the process for peer review works, and how to identify peer-reviewed sources.
- Cited, Citing & Related SourcesHow to quickly turn a high-quality or relevant article into several by "citation chaining" through cited, citing, and related articles.
- Full-TextFinding the full-text through our catalog or interlibrary loan if the article or book you're looking for isn't available in a database.
- Citing in APALinks to resources that you can use to help you cite in APA 6th edition.
- RefWorksQuick link to RefWorks for easy login.
