Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Disease & Drug Overviews
Health Topics from MedlinePlus
Read about symptoms, causes, treatment and prevention for over 900 diseases, illnesses, health conditions and wellness issues. MedlinePlus health topics are regularly reviewed, and links are updated daily.
Diseases & Conditions from the CDC
Overviews, statistics, and more for select diseases and conditions.
Drugs, Supplements, and Herbal Information from MedlinePlus
Learn about prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines, including side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more. Or browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts).
Drug Information Portal
The drug resources listed in this guide include: Information about prescription and over-the-counter as well as dietary supplements and herbals; Statistics and regulations; Specialized drug information such as adverse effects, toxicology, and pill identification; Resources for specific audiences such as consumers and veterinarians; and Resources for specific uses such as cancer, analgesia, and complementary medicine.
Anatomy & Physiology Online
3D Human Anatomy & Physiology
Anatomy & Physiology Online includes 20 modules with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, dissection slides you can label, clinical case studies, the impact of aging on each body systems, pronunciation guide, quizzes and much more.
Online Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Search specialized dictionaries for Public Health, Psychology, Sports Medicine, and more.
Find more background sources in the catalog by adding your keyword(s) to this reference-specific search:
Recommended Electronic Reference Sources
A Dictionary of Public Health
The Dictionary of Public Health is an alphabetical listing of almost 5,000 words and phrases used in public health science and practice. It offers definitions, discussion, and an occasional brief commentary on the relevance of each term to people and their health.
Health Care Systems Around the World
This concise reference provides a one-stop point of research that examines major aspects of health care systems for over 190 countries worldwide. Each country is presented on a two- or three-page spread with the same descriptive and statistical content, allowing readers to compare health care systems from country to country.
Encyclopedia of Global Health
The Encyclopedia of Global Health covers all aspects of health, including physical and mental health entries, biographies of major doctors and researchers, profiles of medical institutions, organizations, and corporations, descriptions of drugs and operations, articles on national health policies, and thematic health topics in the humanities.
Black's Medical Dictionary
Containing more than 5,500 definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts, with more than 1,000 diagrams, drawings, and color illustrations--and helpful appendices on common medical tests and procedures, travel and health, measurements in medicine, health economics, complementary and alternative medicine, and an address list of professional support organizations.