Based on the content I was assigned to review, I think this digital collection has the potential to…

• Q4. …represent a diverse range of human differences experienced by all individuals/groups during the period content was created.
• Q5. …foster a sense of belonging among all individuals/groups when this content was created.
• Q6. … portray all individuals/groups from the past in dignifying and respectful ways.
• Q7. Who is represented? Whose stories are being told?

Indicators of inequity, exclusion, and lack of diversity

Based on the content I was assigned to review, I think this digital collection

• Q8. …may have disadvantaged individuals/groups due to mischaracterization or stereotyping
• Q9. … may not have recognized a group that should be represented.
• Q10. …may have content considered to be outdated, biased, and/or offensive by today’s standards.
• Q11. Who is not represented? Whose stories are not being told?

These areas can help us identify a variety of lexicon categories and maintain a focused approach to planning our audit. Groupings are broad in nature, meaning, that the concepts within each realm are not meant to be mutually inclusive or exclusive. Once recommendations made by the audit team are presented and approved, we can make better decisions on how to engage in “conscious editing” of records that were reviewed and flagged during this first phase.

<1. Punzalan, R. L., & Caswell, M. (2016). Critical directions for archival approaches to social justice. The Library Quarterly, 86(1), 25-42.

• Q12. …the description of this collection, item, or group recognizes diversity
• Q13. …inclusive terminology was used to describe this collection
• Q14. …the subjects are identified in ways that enable their discovery. (e.g., “Mrs. Jane Smith” vs “Mrs. John Smith”)
• Q15. …subjects are described in dignifying and respectful ways (i.e., they are welcomed, valued, and advocated for).
• Q16. …users may feel that their identities and experiences have had a fair share of “airtime”.

Indicators of Inequity, exclusion, and lack of diversity

Based on the content I was assigned to review, I think…

• Q17.…some descriptions may have disadvantaged marginalized communities due to underdescription.
• Q18.…some descriptions may have disadvantaged
• marginalized communities due to mischaracterization
• Q19.…some of these descriptions are potentially harmful if used without warning or contextualization.
  • Q20.…the descriptive language used either outdated, biased, and/or offensive.
  • Q21.…the descriptive language has the potential for being misused or misinterpreted.

For the section, Historical Empathy & Social Justice, participants were asked to assess the potential of this collection to help readers recognize and empathize with the perspectives and contexts of past societies and understand how DEI conversations and issues were represented in Yearbooks.

The historical empathy category is about statements that relate to the ability to recognize and empathize with the perspectives and contexts of past societies.

To what degree does this digital collection have the potential to help me…

• Q22. …recognize how the past context was different than my own (i.e., 2010 context vs today’s).
• Q23. …try to understand a past person’s way of thinking and acting within that context.
• Q24. …self-reflect on or make sense of my present.
• Q25. … acknowledge some of the contradictions or tensions between values and actions from this past period.

Social Justice

This section relates to elements related to social justice (i.e., gender equality, religious discrimination).

Based on the content I was assigned to review, I think this digital collection has the potential to help me…

• Q26. … better understand Furman’s past.
• Q27. …acknowledge how diverse individuals from the past came together to work and create an inclusive environment.
• Q28. …engage in current conversations with others to work and create an inclusive environment.
• Q29. …access knowledge about the lives and experiences of my ancestors.
• Q30. … understand how past worldviews defined the concepts of diversity, inclusion, or equity.

Curriculum, Research, and Community-Building assesses the degree to which this collection enhances FU curricular, research, and scholarship activities, and community- building effort

• Q31. … inspire the general FU community to pose historical research questions that help advance underrepresented communities.
• Q32. … inspire underrepresented members of the FU community to formulate historical research questions.
• Q33. …connect with underrepresented members of our alumni community.
• Q34. …expand relationships with underrepresented local and regional communities.
• Q35. …promote interactions among international communities.

• I found this activity to be useful
• I found this activity to be important
• Was there a question or section that made you think the most or the hardest?If so, which one?