DEI Auditing Process Case Studies 

Sunshine State Digital Network:  

https://sunshinestatedigitalnetwork.wordpress.com/2020/09/16/introduction-to-conscious-editing-series/ 

Introduction to Conscious Editing—Part II:  

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1v_dALDUZ6yUBT46Z6gnOtsADzhr9co7AOwbfEF2FVP8/edit#slide=id.p 

Introduction to Conscious Editing—Part III 

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1_M2G41SZJqI1KwkoKCuBKOBFEKujwTtIVZUiGQ4ETYI/edit#slide=id.g9d27ced4b5_0_63 

Inclusive Metadata & Conscious Editing Resources 

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1APavAd1p1f9y1vBUudQIuIsYnq56ypzNYJYgDA9RNbU/edit#heading=h.cafhnqol3c4d  

 

Decolonization Project Resources (compiled by Duke U.):  

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1GU_cBYEOgn0DGAZs9lw6PfV0FmTQg8mg 

 

DEI Statements from other Institutions 

Temple University:  

https://library.temple.edu/policies/scrc-statement-on-potentially-harmful-language-in-archival-description-and-cataloging 

Alabama Department of Archives and History:  

https://archives.alabama.gov/docs/ADAH_Statement_Recommitment_200623.pdf  

SAA Statement on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion:  

https://www2.archivists.org/statements/saa-statement-on-diversity-equity-and-inclusion  

Example of the removal of racist slurs from a finding aid, at Wilson Special Collections Library at UNC Chapel Hill: https://finding-aids.lib.unc.edu/04258/  (see processing note at the end) 

LibGuides and Online Manuals: 

Reparative Archival Description (Yale U.) 

https://guides.library.yale.edu/reparativearchivaldescription 

Guide to Using Special Collections at Yale University: Statement on Harmful Language in Archival Description:  

https://guides.library.yale.edu/specialcollections/statementondescription 

Guidelines for Inclusive and Conscientious Description (Harvard) 

https://wiki.harvard.edu/confluence/display/hmschommanual/Guidelines+for+Inclusive+and+Conscientious+Description  

Articles, Reports, and Blog Posts: 

Cultural Humility as a Framework for Anti-Oppressive Archival Description:  

https://journals.litwinbooks.com/index.php/jclis/article/view/120/75  

Free resources about bias and metadata, compiled by Sharon Mizota, DEI Metadata Consultant  

https://www.sharonmizota.com/resources/ 

Descriptive Equity and Clarity around Blackface Minstrelsy in HTC Collections (Dorothy Judith Berry): 

https://www.dorothy-berry.com/minstrel-description 

Archives for Black Lives in Philadelphia: Anti-Racist Description Resources (Archives for Black Lives in Philadelphia’s Anti-Racist Description Working Group; section on auditing on p.7): https://archivesforblacklives.files.wordpress.com/2019/10/ardr_final.pdf 

Moving Toward a Reparative Archive: A Roadmap for a Holistic Approach to Disrupting Homogenous Histories in Academic Repositories and Creating Inclusive Spaces for Marginalized Voices (2018): 

https://elischolar.library.yale.edu/jcas/vol5/iss1/6/  

Archival Amnesty: In Search of Black American Transitional and Restorative Justice (2017):  

https://journals.litwinbooks.com/index.php/jclis/article/view/42  

Manuscripts and Archives’ Statement of Affirmation on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (Yale):  

https://campuspress.yale.edu/mssa/manuscripts-and-archives-statement-of-affirmation-on-diversity-equity-and-inclusion/  

Critical Directions for Archival Approaches to Social Justice (2016):   

https://www.journals.uchicago.edu/doi/pdfplus/10.1086/684145  

Taking AIM: Integrating Organization Development into the Creation of a Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Audit” 

https://www.libraryassessment.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/09/64-Bright-Ghouse-TakingAIM.pdf  

Making Archival and Special Collections More Accessible 

https://www.oclc.org/content/dam/research/publications/2015/oclcresearch-making-special-collections-accessible-2015-a4.pdf 

From Human Rights to Feminist Ethics: Radical Empathy in the Archives (Caswell & Cifor, 2016) 

https://escholarship.org/content/qt0mb9568h/qt0mb9568h_noSplash_8f8e254785d3312422810449cd576b4b.pdf  

 

Presentations:  

Conscious Editing for Racial Equity: Reframing Archival Description of Plantation Records (video; Hart, based on Dorothy’s work): 

https://cdr.lib.unc.edu/concern/multimeds/9w032b68k?locale=en 

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion - Library Audit Report (University of the Pacific) 

https://scholarlycommons.pacific.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1018&context=research-tuesdays 

Video presentation: https://scholarlycommons.pacific.edu/research-tuesdays/spring-2021/events/5/  

 

Free resources about bias and metadata, compiled by Sharon Mizota, DEI Metadata Consultant  

https://www.sharonmizota.com/resources/ 

 

Sample Positionality Statements

Collective Positionality Statements:

National Communication Association-Interpersonal Communication Division https://www.natcom.org/sites/default/files/IPCSpringNewsletter.pdf

Check out p3 for a definition of Positionality Statement

Transforming School Mental Health Services Based on a Culturally Responsible Dual-Factor Model https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/2372966X.2021.1968282

This one has one group positionality statement, and individual positionality statements for each member of the group

University of Nevada, “Perspectives and Practices: Archival Processing Metrics Survey Findings” https://elischolar.library.yale.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1137&context=jcas

Read page 3

Science Librarianship and Social Justice: Part Two Intermediate Concepts https://journals.library.ualberta.ca/istl/index.php/istl/article/view/2570/2490

Read paragraph after bullet points.

AAPI COVID-19-Team Positionality Statement https://www.aapicovid19.org/positionalitystatement 

Individual Positionality Statements:

Jessica Tai, “Cultural Humility as a Framework for Anti-Oppressive Archival Description” https://journals.litwinbooks.com/index.php/jclis/article/view/120/75

See page 2. Great article, by the way, for embracing the concept of cultural humility in archival description.