Skip to main content

Richard D. Sawyer Historic Postcard Collection

Please e-mail specialcollections@furman.edu with comments & questions

Arrangement

This collection is arranged in folders alphabetically by location pictured. Subjects of each postcard within the folders is listed. 

Box 1.Anderson, South Carolina to Greenville, Donaldson Air Force Base

Box 2.Greenville, Downtown, Confederate Monument to Greenville, Greeting Cards/Novelty Cards

Box 3.Greenville, Historic Homes to Greenville, U.S. Postal Cards

Box 4.Greenville County to Waterloo, South Carolina

Box 5.Sample Set from Asheville Post Card Co.

Scope and Contents

This collection contains approximately 1266 postcards collected by Richard D. Sawyer. It contains a wide range of images of places, mainly from South Carolina and Greenville in particular, though there are a few from other states.  Some of these postcards have been used for correspondence. Some of the subjects include Greenville aerial scenes, schools, colleges and universities, churches, city parks, commercial businesses, downtown buildings, hospitals, historic homes, mills, motels and hotels Reedy River/Falls, Paris Mountain, railroads, residential street scenes, rural scenes, and Upstate war-related camps, and Donaldson Air Force Base. Box 5 contains a Sample Set from Asheville Post Card Co. containing 78 postcards.

Existence and Location of Copies

A selection of approximately 137 postcards primarily from Greenville and the Upstate region of South Carolina were digitized and are available to view on the Tumblr blog, Richard D. Sawyer Historical Postcard Collection http://sawyerpostcardcollection-blog.tumblr.com/.

Publication Note

Sawyer has published six books, including two about Greenville postcards; Greetings from Greenville, S.C. : the golden age of post cards, 1900-1930, and 10,000 years of Greenville County, South Carolina history : the Reedy River Falls Historic Park.