Furman University home page
Loading...
*Biology: Getting Started
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
A Dictionary of BiologyThis new eighth edition has been fully revised and updated to reflect recent progress in the fields of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, with particular expansion to the areas of research design and plant and animal development. Over 120 new entries include "de-extinction", "ecological footprint", "rewilding", and "Zika virus", now totaling over 5,800 authoritative and up-to-date entries.
The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular BiologyWith over 10,000 entries in this comprehensive dictionary, the Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology provides clear and concise definitions for anyone working in life sciences today. It incorporates related terms from neuroscience, genetics, microbiology, immunology, pathology, and physiology.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and EvolutionThe DHBE covers a broad range of subjects within human biology, physical anthropology, anatomy, auxology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology and zoology. Packed with 13000 descriptions of terms, specimens, sites and names, DHBE also includes information on over 1000 word roots, taxonomies and reference tables for extinct, recent and extant primates, geological and oxygen isotope chronologies, illustrations of landmarks, bones and muscles and an illustration of current hominid phylogeny.
Encyclopedia of Systems BiologySystems biology refers to the quantitative analysis of the dynamic interactions among several components of a biological system and aims to understand the behavior of the system as a whole.
Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental ManagementThe Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management addresses the core definitions and issues in pure and applied ecology. The mixture of short entry definitions and long entry essays gives a comprehensive and up-to-date alphabetical guide to over 3000 topics. Definitions cover the entire spectrum of pure and applied ecological research.
Find More
Find more background sources in the catalog by adding your keyword(s) to this reference-specific search:
More Online Reference Sources
Search across multiple dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks for entries on your topic.
How to Maximize Reference Sources
References sources, particularly specialized encyclopedias, offer many benefits. Consider the following tips as you review a reference source on your topic to reap all the benefits and make your researching even better.
- Get definitions and background - Reference sources assume that you are new to a topic. Jargon and specialized terminology will be explained and contextualized, which you might not get in more advanced books and journal articles.
- Get caught-up on a topic - Research is a conversation, and often it has been going on for years. Reference sources will provide a historical background and identify key developments to help you understand how we got to the current understandings and theories.
- Identify key people and theories - Who are the most important people and ideas on your topic? Reference sources will help you identify them so you can explore their lives and research more deeply.
- Find more sources - Reference sources will provide additional reading, usually in the form of references or background lists. These are a great next-step in your research process.