LibGuides: *Biology: Articles

Recommended Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is an authoritative, multidisciplinary database covering more than 15,000 journals. It is a good choice for most any science topic. It also provides cited and citing reference tracking.
Biological Sciences
A biology-focused database, this resource offers citations (and links out to the Furman Full Text) to research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science
GreenFile
GreenFile focuses on information related to human impact on the environment. It is a collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles.
ScienceDirect
Excellent for general biology and ecology articles. Full-text of articles may be requested from the library via Get it Now.
Annual Reviews Online
Online access to authoritative, analytic reviews published by Annual Reviews in 32 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
Biological and Agricultural Index Plus
Provides full text of articles from over 100 journals dating as far back as 1997, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 380 publications dating back to 1983.
PubMed
The premier database for biomedical literature. It also covers disciplines such as nursing, dentistry, and preclinical sciences. It also covers broader concepts like the health care system and social determinants of health. This link includes the Furman “FUll Text?” button on records for full-text access.
Agricola
Contains records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 4.8 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.

Journals

Major journals are available in full-text online from the links below or use this search box to see all of Furman's online journals.

Verifying Peer Review

Need to be absolutely certain that an article has been peer-reviewed? Use UlrichsWeb! This database provides a range of information about a journal from publisher to title history. Peer-reviewed journals are indicated by a symbol that resembles a sports referee's jersey on them.

**Tip: Remember to search by the name of the journal, not the title of the journal article.**

UlrichsWeb
Detailed information on more 300,000 periodicals.