Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Encyclopedias & Companions
A Companion to Astronomy and Astrophysics
Astronomy and Astrophysics is a comprehensive, fundamental, and up-to-date reference book. It is filled with vital information and basic facts for amateur astronomers and professional astrophysicists, and for anyone interested in the Universe, from the Earth and other planets to the stars, galaxies and beyond.
Encyclopedia of the Solar System, 3rd Edition
Provides a framework for understanding the origin and evolution of the solar system, historical discoveries, and details about planetary bodies and how they interact--with an astounding breadth of content and breathtaking visual impact. The encyclopedia includes the latest explorations and observations, hundreds of color digital images and illustrations, and over 1,000 pages. It stands alone as the definitive work in this field, and provides a look into the future of our solar system. New additions to the third edition reflect the latest progress and growth in the field, including past and present space missions to the terrestrial planets, the outer solar systems and space telescopes used to detect extrasolar planets.
The Oxford Companion to Cosmology
The Oxford Companion to Cosmology is a comprehensive yet accessible encyclopedic overview of this enduringly popular subject. There are entries covering both theoretical ideas such as alternative cosmologies and the various types of observational evidence available, including redshift surveys and cosmic microwave background radiation.
Find more background sources in the catalog by adding your keyword(s) to this reference-specific search:
A Dictionary of Astronomy, 3rd edition
This book covers everything from space exploration and the equipment involved, to astrophysics, cosmology, and the concept of time--plus biographical entries on eminent astronomers and worldwide coverage of observatories and telescopes. The appendices include tables of Apollo lunar landing missions, the constellations, and a table of planetary data.
A Dictionary of Space Exploration
This fascinating dictionary covers the exciting world of space exploration and every aspect of the technology involved. In addition to the main entries and definitions, the book also contains links to over 250 space-related websites, and a comprehensive chronology of space exploration.