Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Conference Proceedings
Conference papers allow researchers to share and discuss their findings before the work of formal article writing begins. This is one way to find very recent research on a topic. Citations for conference proceedings are included in subject-specific databases and databases created just for proceedings.
AIP Conference Proceedings
AIP Conference Proceedings report findings presented at many of the most important scientific meetings around the world. Published proceedings are valuable as topical status reports providing quick access to information before it appears in the traditional journal literature.
IOP: Conference Series
The open access Journal of Physics: Conference Series (JPCS) provides a fast, versatile and cost-effective proceedings publication service.
Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre at the paper level
Contains in each record a list of the papers presented at each conference. Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
Conference Proceedings: Getting the Full-Text
Sometimes a conference proceeding will be published after it has been presented. Other times, it may never appear until the research is included in a formal article or book. To further complicate the situation, proceedings may be published as a book, a special journal issue, online, or any mix of these formats. Here are some best practices when looking for the full-text of a conference proceeding:
- Conduct a google search for a website for the conference or from a conference's sponsor. These websites will often tell you if the proceedings have been published. Some even offer abstracts or full-text on the conference website.
- For proceedings published in books, search the catalog for the conference name or the ISBN of the proceeding.
- For proceedings published in a special journal issue, search the e-journal collection and/or the catalog for the name of the journal.
- If you believe a proceeding has been published but is not owned by the Furman Libraries, request a copy from Interlibrary Loan.