It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Offers access to approximately three million images from over 50 different collections. All images in Image Quest are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use including use in reports and projects or on school Web sites, newsletters, newspapers, flyers, and bulletins.
Database consisting of more than one million images covering art, architecture and archeology. Collections can be searched as a whole or individually.
Made up of 10 distinct image collections: The Image Gallery; The Art History Survey Collection; The Illustrated Bartsch, The Carnegie Arts of the United States Collection, The Huntington Archive of Asian Art; The Mellon International Dunhuang Archive; The Museum of Modern Art Architecture and Design Collection; Native American Art and Culture, National Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian Institution; and Schlesinger History of Women in America Collection.
A not‑for‑profit initiative created to provide access to historical and cultural images of the African/Black Diaspora in the US and UK, gathered from content owned by Getty Images.
Created for non‑commercial use to build on existing educational materials, it paves the way for a deeper understanding of Black History. Additionally, the visuals found within the collection offer inspiration for educational projects.
The collection includes more than 1,000 digital images taken by Hughes of African American workers and their families from 1940 through the 1970s. Hughes began by photographing workers in the Wichita aircraft industry. But his work expanded to cover weddings, graduations, birthday celebrations, religious events, and other facets of African American life.
The National African American Photographic Archive (NAAPA) project is a collaborative effort between the University Libraries, University of Memphis and Ampro Industries, Inc. of Memphis. The aim of the project is to collect, scan, and make available to the public photographs and informative metadata illustrating the daily and work lives and social activities of African Americans.
Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections. Several collections include images of the African American and Diaspora experiences.
Need images you can reuse freely? You can browse just the items that have no known US copyright restrictions. Copy & paste this link: http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/search/index?filters%5Brights%5D=pd&keywords=
A digital collection of over 250 images of African Americans dating from the nineteenth and early twentieth century, selected from the George and Huestis Cook Photograph Collection at the Valentine Richmond History Center. This is a joint project between VCU Libraries and the Valentine Richmond History Center.
A unique photographic record of life in Charlottesville and Albemarle County, Virginia, from before the turn of the century through World War I. Consists of over 9,500 negatives from the commercial studio of Rufus W. Holsinger. Includes nearly 500 portraits of African-American citizens of Charlottesville and the surrounding area.