Furman University home page
Loading...
*Africana Studies: Articles
Best Bets - Journal Articles
- African American Studies CenterA comprehensive collection of scholarship focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Includes 7,500 articles. The core content includes Africana, which presents an account of the African and African American experience in five volumes.
- America: History & LifeHistorical coverage of the United States and Canada from over 2000 English language journals. Also includes book reviews.
- Black Studies CenterBlack Studies Center consists of scholarly journals, commissioned overview essays by top scholars in Black Studies, historic indexes, and The Chicago Defender newspaper from 1910-1975. At the heart of Black Studies Center is Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, consisting of essays that provide an introduction to major topics in Black Studies. Black Studies Center provides the historical full-text of one of the most influential black newspapers in the United States, The Chicago Defender.
Coverage: 1893 - current - Ethnic NewsWatchA collection of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Unique community publications not found in any other database, as well as top scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Ethnic NewsWatch comprehensively covers these ethnic categories:
• African American/Caribbean/African
• Arab/Middle Eastern
• Asian/Pacific Islander
• European/Eastern European
• Hispanic
• Jewish
• Native People
Of the more than 2.5 million articles contained in the collection, nearly a quarter are presented in Spanish; dozens of major Latino publications are featured. - Historical AbstractsCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), featuring coverage of academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. Over 22,000 new abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations are added to the database annually.
- U.S. History (Gale In Context)U.S. History In Context provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. Includes over 5,000 primary source documents, reference materials, and journal titles.
How do I get the full text of an article from a database?
Full-text articles are available online and in print. Here are the various ways to get to full text articles available from the Furman Libraries.
- If you are looking at the article citation in a database, look for a PDF or HTML icon. Clicking on the PDF or HTML icon will give you the full text of the article.
- If you don't see a PDF or HTML icon, then clicking on the FULLText icon will automatically start the search process.
- If the full text is available online, you will be provided with a link to the correct database. Often this will take you directly to the article.
- If there is no online option, You will have the option to request a copy - from another library via interlibrary loan, or from our own collections via Scan & Deliver if available . Clicking the "Request a copy" link will populate a request form with the citation information for this article once you login to your account.
- You can also check the library catalog to see if the article is available in one of the library's print collections, and then go scan or photocopy the article yourself.
More Specialized Sources
- Black Drama: Third EditionBlack Drama, now in its expanded third edition, contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.
- African American Music ReferenceAfrican American Music Reference includes full text from major reference works, personal narratives from oral histories and interviews, manuscripts, song sheets, lyrics, discography data, and other text sources.