Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In addition to the university archival collections listed on this page, primary source material from publishers like Alexander Street Press, Adam Matthew, Gale Archives Unbound and Proquest History Vault are located on sub-pages that are broken out by era. The range of eras and dates are those used by the Oxford African American Studies Center.
Its goal is to represent the full range and complexity of a multilingual “Americas” that includes Canada, the Caribbean, and Latin America from the beginning of colonization to the present.
Managed by the Center for Digital Scholarship at Fondren Library, Rice University.
Early Americas Digital Archive
A collection of electronic texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820... Published and supported by the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH) at the University of Maryland.
Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
The institute is a nonprofit organization devoted to the improvement of history education. In addition to providing an array of programs for schools, teachers, and students, the website features more than 60,000 unique historical documents.
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
Harvard University Collections. Concentrating heavily on the 19th century, Immigration to the US includes over 400,000 pages from more than 2,200 books, pamphlets, and serials, over 9,600 pages from manuscript and archival collections, and more than 7,800 photographs.
Southern Historical Collection
Long at the center of inquiry into the history and culture of the American South, the Southern Historical Collection (SHC) of UN Chapel Hill, is a vast collection of distinct archival collections.
"The Unwritten History": Alexander Gumby's African America
Showcasing pages from nearly fifty of Gumby's scrapbooks, it highlights both the rare and the seemingly mundane items that Gumby argued could combine to document an otherwise forgotten history of the United States and its African American contributors. From the Alexander Gumby Collection of Negroiana, part of the Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Columbia University.