Furman University home page
Loading...
*Africana Studies: Background Information
Background information
Credo Reference: Basic Search
Oxford Reference Online
Sage Reference
- Sage Reference OnlineYou can search across many specialized reference sources with Sage Reference Online.
Gale eBooks
Formerly called Gale Virtual Reference, this is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
The International African American Museum
Located in Charleston, SC "to honor the untold stories of the African American journey at one of our country’s most sacred sites."
Opening June 27, 2023.
Biography
- Black Women in AmericaPulls together the research in this field to provide a building block of Black Women’s Studies. Includes women such as Venus and Serena Williams, Condoleezza Rice, Carol Moseley Braun, Ruth Simmons, and Ann Fudge. Addresses the achievements of black women throughout history, highlights their ongoing contributions in America today, and represents the new research the first edition helped to generate.
- The History MakersThe HistoryMakers is a national 501(c)(3) non-profit research and educational institution committed to preserving and making widely accessible the untold personal stories of both well-known and unsung African Americans.
Since 1999, The HistoryMakers has been recording African American oral histories to refashion a more inclusive record of American history and to educate and enlighten millions worldwide.
Select Encyclopedias, Guides, Handbooks, etc
The African American Electorate: a statistical historyPublication Date: 2012How have African Americans voted over time? What types of candidates and issues have been effective in drawing people to vote? These are just two of the questions that The African American Electorate: A Statistical History attempts to answer by bringing together all of the extant, fugitive and recently discovered registration data on African-American voters from Colonial America to the present. This pioneering work also traces the history of the laws dealing with enfranchisement and disenfranchisement of African Americans and provides the election return data for African-American candidates in national and sub-national elections over this same time span.
Africana : the encyclopedia of the African and African American experienceCall Number: Also in Print - Ref DT14 .A37435 2005 v. 1 - 5
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and HistoryCall Number: Also in print - Reference Collection E185 .E54 2006
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the presentCall Number: eBook
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and CultureCall Number: eBook
- Oxford Encyclopedia of African ThoughtOffers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition on the continent and throughout the diaspora. Major trends in African philosophy, political theory, and religion are covered, as well as significant historical figures and social movements.