Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Duke Endowment Libraries Cohort: Furman University

Furman University: Project at a Glance

A DEI Audit is being conducted at Furman University Libraries to assess its digital collections and finding aids, its an endeavor that aims at community-relating, improving representation of under-described populations, and advancing intergenerational justice. Conceived as a self-reflective tool, this assessment will help the Libraries make informed decisions on how to best incorporate inclusive practices and address archival silences.

TDEL Representatives

Nashieli Marcano, Archivist for Digital Collections

Jeff Makala, Associate Director for Special Collections and Archives and University Archivist

DEI Audit of FU Digital Collections and Finding Aids

TDEL Coordinator, Nashieli Marcano, facilitating a DEI audit session of Furman Yearbooks Collection with Rhetoric Criticism students

A DEI Audit is being conducted at Furman University Libraries to assess their digital collections and finding aids. This endeavor aims at community-relating, improving representation of underdescribed populations, and advancing intergenerational justice. Conceived as a self-reflective tool, this assessment will help the Libraries make informed decisions on how to best incorporate inclusive practices and address archival silences.

As we grow our digital collections, Special Collections & Archives, in collaboration with the Digital Collections Center, we continually seek for more inclusive and accurate ways to describe our content and to amplify silent archival voices that have contributed to the greater history of Furman. Efforts are underway to conduct a DEI Audit of our digital collections and finding aids, an endeavor that allows us to improve discoverability of and access to our digital historical records, enhance our descriptive practices, and facilitate critical dialogues among our diverse communities. To read more on the steps the DEI Audit Team has taken to develop this assessment, check out our first and second parts of our blog series. 

At this stage, we have developed and piloted DEI Audit Survey, a reflection tool that evaluates the degree to which the content of a collection encourages the pursuit of diversity, inclusion, and equity embodied by the Furman Advantage. We are using this survey to facilitate outreach and advocacy for digital collection efforts and to generate new venues for campus communities to engage in self-reflection. Given the participatory nature of this project, it is critical that we continually consult our diverse communities throughout the different stages of this assessment. 

This survey, which is currently being validated by students, faculty, and staff, includes questions like:
•    Does this collection promote a sense of belonging?
•    Does it depict all individuals in fair and respectful ways?
•    Does it encourage users to engage in conversations that advance social justice? 
 

Primary Team Members

Nashieli Marcano

Jeff Makala

Christy Allen

Kathie Sloan

Rick Jones

Scott Salzman

Julia Cowart

Jenny Colvin

Plans for Year Two

  • Complete the audit pilot phase with Furman Yearbooks Collection
  • Create an Audit Summary Report
  • Provide recommendations for future inclusive descriptive practices, outreach and engagement activities
  • Build Furman's Legacy of Slavery Digital Exhibit
  • Davidson College

    Davidson College

  • Furman University

    Furman University

  • Johnson C. Smith

    Johnson C. Smith

  • Duke University

    Duke University