Skip to main content

J. Martin England Papers, 1932, 1954-1978

Please e-mail specialcollections@furman.edu with comments & questions.

Administrative Information

Acquisition

David Stricklin, associate professor of History and chair of the Division of Humanities, Lyon College, Batesville, Arkansas donated the J. Martin England papers to Special Collections in October 2010. The papers were given to Stricklin by England to assist him in writing his dissertation, later published as, A Genealogy of Dissent: Southern Baptist Protest in the Twentieth Century

Separated Material

A newspaper, Atlanta Journal, April 9, 1968, was moved to the American Newspaper Collection, Headlines and Front Pages, 20th Century [Front page - “Funeral Procession of Dr. King Draws Half a Million Persons”].

Related Material

The following sources provide additional information on J. Martin England’s personal and professional life.

  • Special Collections Furmaniana file - J. Martin England
  • Oral memoirs of Jasper Martin England and Mabel Orr England : a series of interviews conducted July-September 1984 / David Stricklin, interviewer [Waco, Tex.] : Baylor University Program for Oral History, c1996; Call No. BX6495.E53 S77 1996 Oversize
  • Special Collections S.C. Baptist Photograph Collection - Picture 1344 – Martin England
  • General Collection - A genealogy of dissent : Southern Baptist protest in the twentieth century / David Stricklin,  Lexington, KY : University Press of Kentucky, c1999; BX6462.3 .S77 1999

Access and Use

Access and Restrictions

Open to research without restrictions. Researchers are advised to contact Special Collections and Archives prior to visiting.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], J. Martin England Papers, [Box #, Folder #], Special Collections and Archives, Furman University, Greenville, S.C.