Furman University home page
Loading...
Obtaining Materials: Patents
When you know what you need, here's how to get it.
Patent Help
- How to Conduct a Preliminary U.S. Patent Search: A Step by Step StrategyVideo from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
- TIFF Image ViewersSo you can view patents from the USPTO website.
Search Google Patent
Find Full-Text Patents
All patents issued in the United States (1790 - current) are searchable from the USPTO's website. There are several other databases that contain this information with different search engines and output features. You may want to explore searching with several of the interfaces to make your search comprehensive.
- Google PatentsGoogle Patents includes patent applications and grants from the USPTO, EPO, JPO, SIPO, WIPO, DPMA, and CIPO. Patents without English full text are machine-translated to English, so you can search foreign patent documents using only English keywords.
- USPTO Patent SearchingAllows you to search the full-text of issued patents from the United States Patent and Trademark Office. Images of the patents are only available as .TIFF documents, and you may need to download a .TIFF viewer to open the documents.
- PatentScopeFrom World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). Using PATENTSCOPE you can search 77 million patent documents including 3.7 million published international patent applications (PCT).
- Lens.org Patent SearchAllows you to search granted patents and applications from the US, Europe, Australia, and beyond. Includes patents from the WIPO. Full-text available as HTML and/or PDF.