Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Obtaining Materials: Articles

When you know what you need, here's how to get it.

Articles from a Database

Full-text articles are available online and in print. Here are the various ways to get to full text articles available from the Furman Libraries.

  • If you are looking at the article citation in a database, look for a PDF icon or the "FUll Text?" icon.  Clicking on the "FUll Text?" icon will automatically start the search process below looking just for that one article.

full text button

  • If the full text is available online, you will be provided with a link to the correct database.  Often this will take you directly to the article.

Full Text Available Online

**Note: There is often more than one Full Text from . . . link. While any of the links should take you to the article, it is best practice to start from the top and work your way down the list.

  • Some articles - particularly in the sciences and psychology - may be found in a resource called ScienceDirect. If it is, the option to "Request full-text from Get it Now (for students and others without a ScienceDirect account)" will appear. Follow this link and use your Furman email address (@furman.edu) to complete the request.

Get it Now example

  • If we don't have it online, Interlibrary Loan will get a copy from another library or from our print collection.  Clicking this link will populate a request form with the citation information for this article once you login to your account. You must have or create an ILLiad account to use this feature.

Request a Copy example

Find Full-Text Options

EBSCO Logo

Know the article you are looking for?

For all available citation fields, try the full Citation Finder.

If you know the DOI, that's all you need!

Furman Full-Text in Google Scholar