Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Woodwind Resources: Find Articles

Oboe, Clarinet, Flute, and Bassoon.

Music Periodical Indexes

Non-Music Indexes with Substantial Music Content

A selected list.  This is not comprehensive, as you can find music information many places.  Think first about what subject you might relate your search to, and go looking for databases on that subject.  This is a place to start.

Woodwind-Specific Journals and Coverage

These are the instrument-specific journals the music library subscribes to, as well as information on how well they are indexed in the music databases.  Some music journals are not indexed anywhere, unfortunately, and have to be flipped through.

The Clarinet (in print in library v. 27-30, 32+)
The official publication of The International Clarinet Association, published quarterly. Each issue has information ranging from new CDs of note, orchestral analysis, help for teachers, what's going on in the Jazz scene, reports from around the world, and news of clarinet festivals and competitions around the world.

IIMP Music Index
Index v. 17-32, v. 34+ Print v. 1+
Full-text N/A Online v. 1+


The Double Reed (in print in library v. 23+)
Contains the latest double reed related research, current events, new music, performance and recording reviews.

IIMP Music Index
Index Vol. 13, no. 1 (spring 1990)- Print v. 17+
Full-text - N/A Online v. 28+


The Instrumentalist (in print in library v. 16+)
Practical information and innovative ideas for band directors.

IIMP Music Index
Index v. 1+ Print v. 4+
Online v. 4+

The Saxophone Symposium (in print in library v. 28+)
Peer-reviewed journal devoted solely to the saxophone.

IIMP Music Index
Index N/A Print N/A
Full-Text N/A Online N/A