Furman University home page
Loading...
Databases: Home
Oxford Music Online
The online version of Oxford Music Online contains the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, which is a great place to start your music research!
The same resource also includes the the Oxford Dictionary of Music, New Grove Opera, New Grove Jazz, and the Oxford Companion to Music.
Search for broad categories: composer name, genre, city, etc.
Databases for Audio and Video
- American SongAmerican Song is a history database containing 50,000 tracks that allow people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
- Classical Music LibraryA fully searchable classical music resource—a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings. Includes tens of thousands of licensed recordings that can be listened to over the Internet. The audio selections are cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information. Selections range from the earliest Gregorian chants to works by modern composers—including symphonic music, vocal and instrumental music, choral works, and other forms.
- Contemporary World MusicDelivers the sounds of regions from every continent. Contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
- Medici.tvMedici.tv offers over 1,000 programs available on streaming VOD. This resource includes filmed concerts by current performers in classical music and documentaries on performers and composers. In addition, the catalog contains educational programs and master classes.
- Naxos Music LibraryNaxos Music Library is one of the world´s largest online classical music libraries. Offers streaming access to more than 46,000 CDs with more than 653,000 tracks, standard and rare repertoire.
Please note that we have limited simultaneous users. - Smithsonian Global SoundA virtual Encyclopedias of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection is an outgrowth of the vision and work of Folkways Records’ founder Moses Asch, who created a veritable Encyclopedias of the human experience of sound, releasing more than 2,000 albums between 1948 and 1986, including those by American folk icons such as Woody Guthrie, Lead Belly, Pete Seeger, and countless influential others.
- Popular Music LibraryContains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.
Music Periodical Indexes
- RILM Abstracts of Music LiteratureRILM covers music scholarship on a wide variety of topics and educational levels. The database includes concise abstracts and is both broad and international in its scope. All scholarly works are included (articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, films and videos, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, conference proceedings, reviews, etc.) Concert reviews, recording notes, pedagogical manuals, etc. are also included. MOST COMPREHENSIVE.
- International Index To Music Periodicals Full Text (IIMP)Abstracts and citations for music articles on nearly all topics. Includes 355 scholarly and popular journals and has full text for 40 of those titles.
- Music IndexInternational citations for articles on music on nearly all topics. Includes 655 scholarly and popular journals.
- Music Index in PrintLink to catalog entry. Find these volumes in the reference section.
Vocal Databases
These tools are specifically for vocalists and their collaborators, provided by subscription through the Furman Libraries. Please contact the library research assistance desk or the music librarian for Virtually Vocal login information.
- IPA SourceOnline library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
- Virtually VocalThis resource offers unlimited access to thousands of accompaniment recordings with melody-emphasized “teach tracks”, hundreds of vocal exercises, and unlimited requests for new accompaniments and learning resources.