It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides coverage in breadth and depth for world music, and is essential for music history, music appreciation, world music courses and ethnomusicology. It currently provides streaming access to over 44,000 tracks from the Smithsonian archives and world music archives in Asia and Africa, and is growing regularly as new recordings are added.
Delivers the sounds of regions from every continent. Contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
American Song is a history database containing 50,000 tracks that allow people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. This release includes 1,048 albums, equaling 17,940 tracks.
50,000 tracks of music from more than 1,048 albums, spanning more than a hundred years.
Delve into the cultural study of music and explore content from across the globe with this diverse and comprehensive collection. Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive and the Ethnomusicology Archive at the University of Washington, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.
Collection of curated primary and secondary full-text materials that supports informed performance, pedagogy, and scholarship in dance. Presents the historical context of 20th and 21st century dance through 150,000 pages of exclusive photographs, correspondence, magazines, dance notation, and reference material that dissolve the distance between archive and scholar and draw dance students into the library.
Theatre students and researchers can see "behind the scenes" of the world's greatest dramatic performances. This international collection covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup. Bringing together essential books and periodicals, archival material, and specially commissioned instructional videos, the collection will cover design concepts for a broad range of performance types, including dance, theatre, opera, and music.
African American Music Reference includes full text from major reference works, personal narratives from oral histories and interviews, manuscripts, song sheets, lyrics, discography data, and other text sources.
Allows cross-searching of audio, video, scores, and full-text reference content in African American Music, American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music and Smithsonian Global Sound. Covers classical, jazz, world, and American music. Delivers audio recordings, video content, full-text reference materials, musical scores, liner notes, Biography, and images through a single interface.
African American Music; American Song; Classical Music Library; Contemporary World Music; Smithsonian Global Sound