It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
An illustrated collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past. Updated three times a year (each January, May and October), adding new biographies from the Romans to the 21st century.
The online version of Cambridge Histories series offers access to the print editions published since the 1960s, more than 280 volumes covering 15 different academic subjects. Supports any type of historical research. The resource is continually updated with new volumes taken as soon as they become available.
American National Biography offers portraits of more than 18,700 men and women whose lives have shaped the nation. Each entry traces a person's life through the sequence of significant events as they occurred from birth to death. Features over 2,700 illustrations, more than 80,000 cross-references, and links to select web sites.
Scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. Iincludes the full text of The Dictionary of Art, containing more than 45,000 articles (more than 21,000 biographies and 500,000 bibliographical citations). Also includes images of the most frequently studied works of art.
Features articles from Biography to thematic entries on architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture. Provides art historical and cultural information about art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, renowned works of art, archaeological sites and stylistic developments. Notable subjects include the Apollo Belvedere, Carthage, the Euphronios krater, the Laokoon, Troy, the Venus de Milo and much more. Spans every art form, medium and civilization from Cycladic,
Covers thousands of years of decorative arts production throughout western and non-western cultures. Explores the works of Alvar Aalto and Charles and Ray Eames, the history of Navajo blankets and wing chairs in thousands of entries on artists, craftsmen, designers, workshops, and decorative art forms. Includes hundreds of entries on the qualities and historical uses of materials, concise definitions on art forms and styles, and in-depth articles discussing the history of armor, jewelry, furnitu
Built on the Grove Dictionary of Art, this work offers over 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spans over a thousand years of history. Recent changes in Islamic art in areas such as Afghanistan, Iran and Iraq are covered. Provides in-depth information about dynasties, art forms, artists, architecture, rulers, monuments, archaeological sites and stylistic developments.
Offers up-to-date information on all aspects of this fundamental area of the visual arts. This reference work provides historical and current uses of materials and techniques in a wide range of areas from painting and sculpture to non-traditional media such as digital and video art. Coverage includes materials in art practice (e.g. ink, enamel, digital materials); materials in conservation (e.g. adhesives); classes of artifacts (e.g. wallpaper, mosaic, ceramic); techniques and methods (e.g. book binding, gilding, printing, weaving), terms (e.g. rustication), tools (e.g. easel, laser), theory (e.g. technical examination, conservation controversies), fakes & forgeries, and conservation theorists and practitioners.
Offers current scholarly information on the visual arts of the Renaissance in Northern Europe. Covers a wide range of subject areas, addressing people and subjects specific to all areas of Northern, Central, and Eastern Europe, including the diverse geographical regions that now encompass the modern nations of Germany, Austria, France, England, the Netherlands, Belgium, Scandinavia, Poland, and Russia. Contains articles on artists, artisans, patrons, painting, architecture, sculpture, cities, ce
Contains over 1500 entries covering all aspects of architecture, from architects, building types, and movements and styles to materials, aspects of design, and definitions. Covers of architecture around the world, and of modern and vernacular architecture. Addresses the social, technical, and practical aspects of architecture, as well as from an art-historical perspective.
Provides details on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. Includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period. Explores the influence that this intense intellectual and cultural revival continues to have on modern thought and society. Nearly half the entries are biographical, covering artists, thinkers, statesman, and reformers.