Skip to Main Content

Furman's Legacy of Slavery: A Digital Exhibition: Resources Consulted

Resources Consulted

  1. Collier, Kimberly, Places: The Furman area – Cherrydale Point to Roe Ford Road – just five miles from ‘everywhere’, (2019), https://greenvillejournal.com/homes/the-furman-area-cherrydale-point-to-roe-ford-road-just-five-miles-from-everywhere/

  2. Expense sheet, 1852, in Historical Old Campus Box, Historical Documents, 45/005-A, Furman University Special Collections.

  3. Furman University Task Force on Slavery and Justice, Seeking Abraham Report, (2018), https://www.furman.edu/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/Seeking_Abraham_Furman_Task_Force_on_Slavery_and_Justice_Report.pdf

  4. James C. Furman to Brushy Creek Baptist Church, 18 October 1863, James C. Furman Papers, Furman University Special Collections

  5. Inabinet, Brandon, Seeking Abraham at Furman University: Reckoning with Inequity in University History, (2021) https://pocketsights.com/tours/tour/Greenville-Seeking-Abraham-at-Furman-University-1787

  6. King, 187-194; Harvey Tolliver Cook, The Life and Work of James Clement Furman (Greenville: Alester G. Furman, 1926) 19-45.

  7. Furman, Richard “Address on Freedom, a letter from High Hills of Santee explaining the colonists’ side and pleading for peace,” November 1775, Richard Furman Collection, Furman University Special Collections.

  8. Furman, Richard. “Exposition of the Views of the Baptists, Relative to the Coloured Population in the United States,” Richard Furman Collection, Furman University Special Collections. https://cdm16821.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/p16821coll36/id/633/rec/24

  9. Report to the Board of Trustees in Historical Old Campus Box, Historical Documents, 45/005-A, Furman University Special Collections.

  10. Richard Furman to Dolly McDonald Furman, 15 November 1814; Richard Furman Collection, Furman University Special Collections.https://cdm16821.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/p16821coll36/id/642/rec/1

  11. Richard Furman to Dolly McDonald Furman, 15 November 1816; Richard Furman Collection, Furman University Special Collections.https://cdm16821.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/p16821coll36/id/646/rec/2

  12. Richard Furman to Sarah Haynsworth, June 1808; Richard Furman Collection, Furman University Special Collections.

  13. Richard Furman to Sarah Haynsworth, June 1808; Richard Furman Collection, Furman University Special Collections.

  14. Richard Furman to Wood Furman 11, January 1808; Richard Furman Collection, Furman University Special Collections.

  15. Treasurers Transaction Booklet, 1853, in Historical Old Campus Box, Historical Documents, 45/005-A, Furman University Special Collections.