Furman University home page
Furman's Legacy of Slavery: A Digital Exhibition: Construction Documents
Along with the loose paper slips in this case, these documents provide a window into the large network of laborers and suppliers used to construct the first major building on The Furman University’s campus.
Suppliers of hired enslaved labor for the construction include E. A. Besseller, James N. Benson, L. B. Cline, P. C. Edwards, Dorcas Gleeson, T. W. Kiniman, J. Mauldin, Vardry McBee, O. A. Pickle, Margaret A. Rice, Hugh Thompson, and James Thornburg.
Look closer
Treasurer’s receipt book, 1851-1854.
RG 45/005-A Historical Documents, Treasurer Reports, Box 1
Treasurer's receipt book
Furman University Special Collections and Archives
Despite Pasley's lament that all the African-Americans were already hired out, a record of expenses for that year lists a payment to T.B. Roberts "for the hire of a boy," which is almost certainly a master, or perhaps sub-contractor, being paid for the work of a slave.
Treasurer's receipt book
Furman University Special Collections and Archives
Here, the university paid Furman professor of Biblical Literature & Interpretation the Reverend Peter C. Edwards for the “hire of a boy at $10 per month” and for the “board of a boy for $2.50 per month.” This person lived and worked on the new campus, taking care of the facilities, the grounds, and the faculty.
Treasurer's receipt book
Furman University Special Collections and Archives
A payroll record on January 1, 1853, indicates a payment to John McCrady of $17.64 to "hire his boy for work on college building (the name for Old Main building while it was under construction) for 22 days.
Treasurer's receipt book
Furman University Special Collections and Archives
On August 7, 1852, Furman paid for the labor of "three boys hewing" at $1.50 for a total amount of $4.50. The payments were made to Mr. Watson and Fringer by the treasure.