LibGuides: FYW: Language, Argument, and Culture: Popular Sources

Greenville Specific Publications

Greenville News
The Greenville News is a daily newspaper published in Greenville, South Carolina. This database includes issues going back to 1999 as well as current local articles.
Greenville Post and Courier

Biography (Gale In Context)
*A GOOD PLACE TO LOOK FOR INFO ABOUT CHARLES TOWNES*

Popular Sources

Definition: Sources that are widely available or distributed; these sources may be created by anyone. Popular sources can have multiple purposes and can be created to persuade, entertain, or inform.

Some examples of popular sources:

News
- Newspapers
- Live News (broadcast or radio)
- News on Social Media Platforms
Magazines
Websites
- Greenville Public Art: https://storymaps.arcgis.com/collections/4a3096011985490b971d3f778466c9b4

Search Magazines

Readers’ Guide Full Text
Delivers comprehensive indexing of the most popular and important periodicals published, spanning from 1983 to the present.
Gale Primary Sources
The Gale Primary Sources cross-search interface provides access to millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions. Users can explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more.
Life Magazine Archive
Life Magazine features story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions. Issues visually depict national and international events and topical stories, providing views of real people and their real life situations. Coverage is from the first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000.
Time Magazine Archive
Intended to be read in under an hour, each issue of Time contains reports of national and international current events, politics, sports, and entertainment. Capturing the relevant news for a given week, the magazine remains an important resource for researchers studying just about any aspect of 20th-Century history and life. Time Magazine Archive includes the first issue, published in March 1923, through December 2000.

National Newspapers and News Websites

New York Times
Using this link will take you to a page where you can either create a new New York Times (NYT) account or sign in to a previously-created account. You may use your Furman or personal email address; if you have previously created a personal account, you can verify it for free access through Furman via this link.

If you've already completed this setup step, simply go directly to nytimes.com to start reading. Depending on your browser configuration, or if you're using a different computer, you may need to sign in using the link at the top right.
Wall Street Journal
Using this link will take you to a page where you can either create a new Wall Street Journal (WSJ) account or sign in to a previously-created account. You may use your Furman or personal email address; if you have previously created a personal account, you can verify it for free access through Furman via this link.

If you are creating a new account, you will be guided through a series of questions to personalize and configure your access preferences.

If you've already completed this setup step, simply go directly to wsj.com to start reading. Depending on your browser configuration, or if you're using a different computer, you may need to sign in using the link at the top right.
Washington Post
While The Washington Post, published since December 6, 1877, has long been considered the newspaper of record when it comes to politics and global affairs, The Post also contains smart and thoughtful reporting on topics ranging from climate solutions, health and wellness to food and cooking. Unlimited access is available through the campus network or by creating an account using a university email address.

National Public Radio (NPR) - NPR is an independent, nonprofit media organization that was founded on a mission to create a more informed public.
Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) - Organization that produces and distributes news and educational content to the USA. Top journalists deliver compelling original analysis of the hour's headlines.
The Conversation - From their "About Us": "On this website (and through distribution of our articles to thousands of news outlets worldwide), you’ll find explanatory journalism on the events, discoveries and issues that matter today.

FYW: Language, Argument, and Culture

Greenville Specific Publications

Popular Sources

Definition: Sources that are widely available or distributed; these sources may be created by anyone. Popular sources can have multiple purposes and can be created to persuade, entertain, or inform.

Search Magazines

National Newspapers and News Websites

National Public Radio (NPR) - NPR is an independent, nonprofit media organization that was founded on a mission to create a more informed public.

Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) - Organization that produces and distributes news and educational content to the USA. Top journalists deliver compelling original analysis of the hour's headlines.

The Conversation - From their "About Us": "On this website (and through distribution of our articles to thousands of news outlets worldwide), you’ll find explanatory journalism on the events, discoveries and issues that matter today.

The Information Cycle