Furman University home page
Loading...
*History: Background Information
Background Resources on History
What is African American history? by Call Number: E184.65 .D35 2015ISBN: 0745660800Publication Date: 2015
Europe 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World by Publication Date: 2004
What Happened Where: A Guide to Places and Events in the Twentieth Century by Publication Date: 1997
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by Publication Date: 2006
Digital Background Sources on History
The Oxford encyclopedia of the modern world by Call Number: Electronic Resource
Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyAn illustrated collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past. Updated three times a year (each January, May and October), adding new biographies from the Romans to the 21st century.
The Oxford encyclopedia of women in world history by Call Number: Electronic Resource
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation by Encompasses not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature
Encyclopedia of the Middle AgesWith a focus on focus on Europe and Christendom, the Encyclopedia also covers the rise of Islam and people of other cultures with whom Europeans came into contact.
- Cambridge Histories OnlineThe online version of Cambridge Histories series offers access to the print editions published since the 1960s, more than 280 volumes covering 15 different academic subjects. Supports any type of historical research. The resource is continually updated with new volumes taken as soon as they become available.
- American National BiographyAmerican National Biography offers portraits of more than 18,700 men and women whose lives have shaped the nation. Each entry traces a person's life through the sequence of significant events as they occurred from birth to death. Features over 2,700 illustrations, more than 80,000 cross-references, and links to select web sites.
Oxford Reference - History
General History
- World History (Gale In Context)Collection of reference materials, full-text articles from scholarly publications, an array of primary sources, and images, maps and charts which provide geographic and chronologic research materials for the study of world history. Coverage of ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance.
- U.S. History (Gale In Context)U.S. History In Context provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. Includes over 5,000 primary source documents, reference materials, and journal titles.