Furman University home page
Loading...
*History: Find Journal Articles
Digital Collections
- Making of AmericaUniversity of Michigan
- Making of AmericaCornell University
- African American Studies CenterA comprehensive collection of scholarship focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Includes 7,500 articles. The core content includes Africana, which presents an account of the African and African American experience in five volumes.
- Modernist Journal ProjectA joint project of Brown University and The University of Tulsa
The Modernist Journals Project is a major resource for the study of modernism in the English-speaking world, with periodical literature as its central concern. Our primary mission is to produce digital editions of culturally significant magazines from around the early 20th century and make them freely available to the public on our website. - Congres Archeologique de FranceScanned images-1847 to 1948
Missing-1892, 1914-15,1917-1918,
1921,1934,1940-43,1945.
Links to Databases
- America: History & LifeHistorical coverage of the United States and Canada from over 2000 English language journals. Also includes book reviews.
- Historical AbstractsCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), featuring coverage of academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. Over 22,000 new abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations are added to the database annually.
- International Medieval BibliographyContains 300,000 records of articles, review articles, scholarly notes and similar literature on all aspects of medieval studies. Includes a comprehensive cataloging and indexing system, using familiar, multilingual terminology. The index contains 120,000 terms, classified into six types (subjects, persons, texts, places, manuscripts, etc.)
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesFull content of the whole twenty years of the annual printed Bibliography of Asian Studies (from 1971–1991), plus citations for articles from 1992 to the present in more than 100 journals in the field of Asian studies. Contains over 590,000 references to books, journal articles, individually-authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc.
- American Periodicals SeriesDigitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
- Periodicals Archive OnlinePeriodicals Archive Online provides a digital archive of over 750 historically respected, international journals in the humanities and social sciences, spanning more than two centuries of content. Over 750 historically respected journals are provided from volume 1, issue 1, with titles selected by an expert editorial team.
- Humanities Full TextH.W. Wilson's Humanities databases cover nearly 400 English language periodicals in the diverse subject areas of the humanities. Among the disciplines included are literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.
- Humanities and Social Sciences RetrospectiveIndexes nearly 1,200 periodicals, as far back as 1907. Citations to more than 1,300,000 articles, including over 240,000 book reviews. Indexes scholarly journals published throughout the 20th century in North America and Europe. In addition to coverage of the humanities and social sciences, the database covers many scientific journals through the 1950's.
- British Periodicals I,II,III, and IVTraces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals' and beyond. Consists of more than 460 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s, comprising more than two centuries of British history and culture.
- British Library NewspapersBritish Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society.
- Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953)The collection of papers, including North China Herald, The China Press, The China Critic, and the China Weekly Review, provides a primary source chronicle of the country's turbulent transition from Imperial rule to the founding of the Republic. The Chinese Newspapers Collection captures all editions published 1832 through 1953.
- Gale Primary SourcesThe Gale Primary Sources cross-search interface provides access to millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions. Users can explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more.
- JSTORJSTOR is a scholarly journal archive which provides full image access to articles from over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles. JSTOR goes back to the very first issue of each journal (many of them in the 19th Century), but does not include the most recent five years.
- American ErasOffers essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to U.S. history. Each chapter focuses on major aspects of the featured era. Provides students with perspective on the ideas, individuals and events that made each period in American history unique. Each volume contains a chronology of world events that sets a historical framework; a bibliography; an index of photographs; and a subject index.
- LitFinderCovering world literature and authors throughout history, LitFinder contains over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. LitFinder also includes secondary materials like Biography and images. From Shakespeare's sonnets to poems by Donald Hall or short stories from Edgar Allan Poe to works by Annie Proulx.
- Readers’ Guide RetrospectiveThe Readers' Guide Retrospective indexes the most popular, general-interest journals and magazines published in the United States from 1890 to 1982.
Newspapers - Historical (Digital)
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersSimultaneously search more than fifty major historical American and Canadian newspapers, including the largest circulating African-American newspapers.
- African American Newspapers
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Features papers from more than 35 states—including significant 19th century titles.
- Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953)The collection of papers, including North China Herald, The China Press, The China Critic, and the China Weekly Review, provides a primary source chronicle of the country's turbulent transition from Imperial rule to the founding of the Republic. The Chinese Newspapers Collection captures all editions published 1832 through 1953.
- Virginia Gazette1736-1790
Williamsburg, Virginia, colonial capital of America. - North Carolina Historical NewspapersCommunity Newspapers from across North Carolina
- America’s Historical NewspapersProvides access to early American newspapers from 1690 to1922. Offers over 2000 searchable historical American newspapers. Focuses largely on the 18th and early 19th century newspapers from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Also includes African American newspapers from 1827 to 1998.
- 19th Century US NewspapersProvides digital images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
- Chronicling AmericaSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- Gale Primary SourcesThe Gale Primary Sources cross-search interface provides access to millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions. Users can explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more.
- Sunday Times Historical Archive (1822-2006)Since 1822, The Sunday Times has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week’s news and society at large. In more than 800,000 pages, The Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006 is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the last 180 years.
- Daily Mail Historical ArchiveThe Daily Mail Historical Archive provides more than 100 years of this major UK national newspaper. It can be viewed in full digital facsimile form, with copious advertisements, news stories and images that capture 20th century culture and society.
- Welsh Newspapers Online-(1804-1919)National Library of Wales