Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Environmental Studies (GALE in Context)
Environmental Studies (GALE in context; previously GREENR) is an online resource that offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more. You can browse by topic or issues in addition to traditional search. Results include reference information, maps, videos, case studies, news, and more.
Online Reference Sets
Search specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, and more for Earth & Environmental Science topics.
South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control (DHEC)
The South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control (DHEC) is the state agency charged with protecting public health, coastal resources, and the state's land, air and water quality as authorized under multiple state and federal laws.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
The EPA was established on December 2, 1970 to consolidate in one agency a variety of federal research, monitoring, standard-setting and enforcement activities to ensure environmental protection. Since its inception, EPA has been working for a cleaner, healthier environment for the American people.
US Geological Survey
As an unbiased, multi-disciplinary science organization that focuses on biology, geography, geology, geospatial information, and water, we are dedicated to the timely, relevant, and impartial study of the landscape, our natural resources, and the natural world.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
NOAA is an agency that enriches life through science. Our reach goes from the surface of the sun to the depths of the ocean floor as we work to keep citizens informed of the changing environment around them.
Find more background sources in the catalog by adding your keyword(s) to this reference-specific search:
Suggested Print & Electronic Reference Titles
Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management
Call Number: Online
Addresses the core definitions and issues in pure and applied ecology. It is neither a short entry dictionary nor a long entry encyclopedia, but lies somewhere in between. The mixture of short entry definitions and long entry essays gives a comprehensive and up-to-date alphabetical guide to over 3000 topics.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy
Call Number: Online
Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. More than 300 peer-reviewed articles cover concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.
Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology
Call Number: Online
ESST is a succinct yet authoritative on numerous topics including: green chemistry for industry, water use and recovery, crop production including genetic modification of crops, forestry and fisheries, all types of energy production, mass and personal transportation with fuel modification, power source variation, pollution control and waste disposition, recycle and disposition, urban planning and the built environment, environmental quality, epidemiology and disease prevention, and more.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
Call Number: Ref GE10 .E523 2011
This newly revised edition provides a wealth of information for students and general readers on the very relevant topic of the environment. Articles cover an amazing range of topics - from endangered animal species and air pollution to smog and urban planning. 300 new articles are included, and all of the original essays have been re-evaluated for currency and accuracy. Plus, complimentary online access is provided through Salem Science.
Historical Dictionary of Environmentalism
Call Number: Ref GE195 .D358 2009
The Historical Dictionary of Environmentalism strategically skips across issues, concepts, time, organizations, and cultures, not with any pretense of producing a definitive dictionary but rather with the aim of producing an inclusive, wide-ranging, and global history of environmentalism. This goal is accomplished through a chronology, a list of acronyms and abbreviations, an introductory essay, and over 300 cross-referenced dictionary entries.