Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic.
Geography & Environment from the U.S. Statistical Abstract
This section presents a variety of information on the physical environment of the United States. The subjects covered are mostly concerned with environmental trends but include related subjects such as land use, water consumption, air pollutant emissions, toxic releases, oil spills, hazardous waste sites, municipal waste and recycling, threatened and endangered wildlife, and the environmental industry.
S.C. DHEC Data & Statistics
Health statistics and surveys, vital statistics, and environmental tools for South Carolina.
NationMaster is a massive central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. You can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.
Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education
AASHE provides access to their reports and research to Furman-affiliates. Create a personal account using your Furman email address to obtain full-text access.
Environmental Indicators from the United Nations Statistics Divison
UNSD Environmental Indicators disseminate global environment statistics, maps, and charts on ten indicator themes compiled from a wide range of data sources.
Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
EPA Open Data
This site is a single place to find a vast selection of EPA data sources, organized into topics such as air and water that are in easily downloadable formats.
ESA Data Registery
The data sets registered here are associated with articles published in the journals of the Ecological Society of America. See individual registry entries for citation information as well as usage rights.
Ecological Data Wiki
The site is as a source for identifying ecological datasets and quickly figuring out the best ways to use them. Just think of it as the Wikipedia of ecology data.
VertNet takes four classic vertebrate networks (FishNet, MaNIS, HerpNET, ORNIS), to combine them into a single integrated data portal.
Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC)
This portal provides access to a wide range of global data, associated documentation, and visualization and analysis tools, and to the community of experts on global data. Themes include Climate, Conservation, Governance, Hazards, Health, Population, Poverty, and Sustainability.
Global Change Master Directory
The GCMD holds more than 29,000 Earth science data set and service descriptions, which cover subject areas within the Earth and environmental sciences. The project mission is to assist researchers, policy makers, and the public in the discovery of and access to data, related services, and ancillary information (which includes descriptions of instruments and platforms) relevant to global change and Earth science research.
NOAA National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC)
NOAA's National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC) provides scientific stewardship, products, and services for geophysical data from the Sun to the Earth and Earth's sea floor and solid earth environment, including Earth observations from space. GIS focus.
Social Explorer provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information and lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change.