Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Copies of the worksheet we used in class can be found below.
Environmental Studies (GALE in Context)
Environmental Studies (GALE in context; previously GREENR) is an online resource that offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more. You can browse by topic or issues in addition to traditional search. Results include reference information, maps, videos, case studies, news, and more.
Global Issues in Context
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Provides sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
Online Reference Sets
Search specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, and more for Earth & Environmental Science topics.
Print & Electronic Reference Titles
Find more background sources in the catalog by adding your keyword(s) to this reference-specific search:
Environmental Science: In Context
Written by a global array of experts, Environmental Science in Context includes approximately 250 articles on such topics as fossil fuel combustion, freshwater, international environmental law, and more. It brings together original essays, primary source documents, and sidebars on the cultural, economic, and political issues surrounding scientific thought.
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
The Encyclopedia of Environment and Society brings together multiplying issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of clearly explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature. With more than 1,200 entries written by experts from incredibly diverse fields, this innovative resource is a first step toward diving into the deep pool of emerging knowledge.
Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management
Addresses the core definitions and issues in pure and applied ecology. It is neither a short entry dictionary nor a long entry encyclopedia, but lies somewhere in between. The mixture of short entry definitions and long entry essays gives a comprehensive and up-to-date alphabetical guide to over 3000 topics.
Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology
ESST is a succinct yet authoritative on numerous topics including: green chemistry for industry, water use and recovery, crop production including genetic modification of crops, forestry and fisheries, all types of energy production, mass and personal transportation with fuel modification, power source variation, pollution control and waste disposition, recycle and disposition, urban planning and the built environment, environmental quality, epidemiology and disease prevention, and more.
Encyclopedia of Natural Hazards
The Encyclopedia of Natural Hazards effectively captures and integrates contributions from an international portfolio of almost 300 specialists whose range of expertise addresses over 330 topics pertinent to the field of natural hazards. Clear illustrations and numerous color images enhance the primary aim to communicate and educate. The inclusion of a series of unique classic case study events interspersed throughout the volume provides tangible examples linking concepts, issues, outcomes and solutions.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
Call Number: Ref GE10 .E523 2011
This newly revised edition provides a wealth of information for students and general readers on the very relevant topic of the environment. Articles cover an amazing range of topics - from endangered animal species and air pollution to smog and urban planning. 300 new articles are included, and all of the original essays have been re-evaluated for currency and accuracy. Plus, complimentary online access is provided through Salem Science.