Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Children's Lit Info
Picture Books Database
The Picture Books Database brings picture books and readers together, helping educators find the best picture books for their intended audience. The service combines data from dozens of online and print sources, thousands of picture books, and countless publisher, author, and illustrator websites. The database tracks hard to find data about picture books, eliminating the need to consult multiple reference books or websites.
Where is the juvenile collection?
On the lower level of the James B. Duke Library, you can find the juvenile and curriculum collection. Behind that collection is a study room that only education majors may use, including graduate students. You may check out the key at the circulation desk on the 1st floor.
Library Catalog - Searching for juvenile books
Juvenile books have their own set of subject headings, or you can search by title. To search by author, illustrator, or keyword, you may go to the original library catalog.
Finding juvenile eBooks in the catalog
The Furman Libraries have added a considerable number of juvenile eBooks in the last few years, unfortunately they do not have juvenile subject headings the way our print collection does (see box above.)
To access this rich collection, do a search with subject contains "Juvenile literature" and adding another keyword. You can just do "juvenile literature" to see a long list.