Adding the citations for articles and other resources you discover during your reseach to RefWorks is easy to do! As you add citations you will build your RefWorks library.
Here are 4 ways to add citations to RefWorks:
Send a message anytime to email@example.com.
Come by the Research Assistance Desk on your right as you enter the James B. Duke Library right in the heart of campus.
Give us a call at (864) 294-2195
Send us a text message at (864) 214-7172
Many databases provide a "direct export" function that allows you to add citations directly to your RefWorks account. To use direct export:
**TIP: When you view the citations in your Last Imported folder, check over the information to ensure that all required citation parts are included and properly formatted. If you see an error, for example, the title may appear in ALL CAPS, use the edit icon to fix it now. This will reduce the chance of errors later when you are creating in-text citations and bibliographies.
If you are importing citations from databases without a "Direct RefWorks Export" you can still download the citations to a file and import manually into RefWorks. There are few more steps than the direct export, but is still much faster and easier than manually adding citations.
**TIP: Here are setting for common databases that require manual import. When importing citations from these databases, use these options to ensure that all the citation informations get imported correctly.
|For importing from PubMed
Filter = NLM PubMed
Database = PubMed
|For importing from Web of Science
Filter = Thomson Reuters
Database = Web of Science
You can also directly enter the citation information into RefWorks.
RefGrab-It is an optional feature for capturing bibliographic information from web pages. It is available as a bookmarklet that works with Internet Explorer and Firefox. To install RefGrab-It in your browser, follow the instructions under Tools >> RefGrab-It after logging in to your account.
To use RefGrab-It:
**TIP: ALWAYS check the importede citation RefGrab-It creates. Sometimes fields are missing because the information has not been coded correctly by the web page. If so, edit your RefWorks citation manually to add all the information needed.