Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Print Sources for Chemical & Physical Properties
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
Call Number: Science Oversized Q199 .N32
This classic and well-known reference was originally published from 1926 - 1930 for the National Research Council in 7 volumes. It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. Featuring physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties, it is a major reference source used by those involved in chemistry, physics, and engineering.
Handbook of Basic Tables for Chemical Analysis
Call Number: Science QD78 .B78 2011
The CRC Handbook of Basic Tables for Chemical Analysis, Third Edition is a one-stop reference that presents updated data in a handy format specifically designed for use when reaching a decision point in designing an analysis or interpreting results.
Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data
Call Number: v. 1-27 @ JBD Bound Periodicals; v28-current online
The objective of the Journal is to provide critically evaluated physical and chemical property data, fully documented as to the original sources and the criteria used for evaluation, preferably with uncertainty analysis. Critical reviews of measurement techniques may also be included if they shed light on the accuracy of available data in a technical area.
Online Sources for Chemical & Physical Data
CRC Handbook 100th Edition
The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics contains all the most frequently used data in science, including the periodic table of the elements, basic constants and units, and geophysical data. For decades, physicists and chemists have turned to this handbook as their primary source for reliable data.
NIST Physical Reference Data Portal
Includes atomic, molecular, nuclear, and elemental data.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Search by chemical or property.
MatWeb Material Property Data
MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers, metals, ceramics, semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing references, properties, and spectra for over 28 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
A computational knowledge engine. Search for "properties of [material]" for information.
Indices for Properties
Chemical and Physical Properties Resources
This curated list of free-to-use resources covers natural and man-made material properties. Some properties covered include boiling points, flash points, melting points, dipole movements, etc. Other resources include spectroscopy and crystallization as well as tables of physical constants. For materials found in SpringerMaterials, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request for PDFs.
ThermoDex contains records for selected printed and web-based compilations of thermochemical and thermophysical data for chemical compounds and other substances. Due to copyright and technical considerations, the actual data are not contained in ThermoDex, just source recommendations.