The mission of the Interlibrary Loan / Scan & Deliver Department is to facilitate access to materials not owned by the Furman University Libraries. This is done in support of the study and research needs of current students, faculty and staff of Furman University. As part of its mission, the department will explore and utilize alternative avenues of access to remote resources (i.e., full-text databases, commercial document delivery sources and current awareness services.) Obtaining materials often involves requesting them from other institutions world-wide. As part of this larger interlibrary loan community, the ILL Department loans requested items from our collection to other institutions.

• Develop, codify, and implement new Document Delivery procedures for scanning of microforms, bound journals, and books.
• Introduce circulation student workers to WebCirc—develop new borrowing practices to reflect change in workflow.
• Promote Document Delivery scanning service and PASCAL Delivers 5 day/week delivery.
• Continue to assess and refine parameters of our new document delivery service.
• Establish a student worker training checklist and establish systematic student worker assessment.
• Create task and workflow manual for Interlibrary/Document Delivery
• Analyze and apply PASCAL Delivers and ILLiad borrowing data for patron driven acquisition initiatives.
• Continue to investigate integrating Summon into the Interlibrary Loan workflow.

The Interlibrary Loan / Scan & Deliver Department worked on updating the existing Campus Interlibrary Loan Policy in the fall of 2012 to reflect current practices. During the October 2012 Faculty Meeting Policy 174.1 Interlibrary Loans was approved.

Guidelines for items returned after replacement fees were received were also established and initiated:

Interlibrary Loan Refund Policy

Refunds shall be issued when all of the following criteria are met:

• The borrowing institution has paid the full invoiced amount for the lent item.
• The lent item is returned in good condition.
• The lent item is returned within one year of the invoice payment.

Our lending deflection practice for PASCAL requests was examined. Currently, we honor PASCAL requests even if the requested item is recently received. This causes problems from time-to-time when a Furman community member wishes to check out a new book and finds it checked out to a PASCAL patron. After careful assessment and consideration of our options, it was decided that we would retain current lending practices and encourage faculty and students to place holds on ordered items to ensure that new purchases would be available.

The ILLiad WebCirc module allows sites that use a remote desk for circulating ILL materials to have access to ILLiad circulation functions without having the ILLiad Client installed on circulation workstations. With the WebCirc module, users can log into a restricted web view of ILLiad and check items out, check items in, renew, and mark an item as In Transit. Permissions can be restricted so the staff using the WebCirc module only have access to that module and cannot use the ILLiad Client, Web Reports or any ILLiad administrative tools. We hope to have this module installed on Circulation Desk workstations by fall and will then train our students. This function will streamline work-flow and increase the accuracy of ILL tracking.

Our Scan & Deliver service was named in fall 2012 and promoted throughout the year in Facebook, the Library Blog, and in Fulcrum.

Full information about the service is included in our Interlibrary Loan / Scan & Deliver Services LibGuide.  In 2012 we provided 721 documents through Scan & Deliver. See our Scan & Deliver Over Time Chart for additional details.

We expanded and enhanced our Interlibrary Loan / Scan & Deliver student worker training to include cross-training with circulation. Elaina also developed an Interlibrary Loan / Scan & Deliver student worker evaluation and review process.

Ongoing

InterLibrary Loan Patron Driven Acquisitions

The Furman University Library ILL / PDA Pilot began on March 25, 2013 and officially ended on May 3, 2013. During that time, 3 items were selected for purchase, ordered and received. The first 2 books were ordered, received and cataloged within 9 days, and the remaining book took a mere 3 days to arrive on the hold shelf. It was decided that the number of items being added to the collection through this means would not be a burden on the staff processes involved, and the pilot period was thereby concluded by instituting ILL / PDA as a regular practice.

To date, nearly 3 months from the pilot start, a total of 9 items requested by 5 faculty members and 1 student have been added to the collection. The longest turnaround time has been 19 days for a single item, and the shortest, 2 days, with an average of 8 days turnaround. A few of the books were already queued up for the acquisitions plan with YBP, and shipping was expedited. Considering that all of the books were newly published and not yet available through ILL, the only other recourse would have been to cancel the requests and ask the patrons to resubmit in 4-6 months, as has been our practice in the past. This procedure provides exponentially better patron service.

Parameters

ILL criteria:

• Print monographs, audio CDs
• Not owned by Furman Libraries
• Not available from PASCAL libraries
• Not a University Press book
• Not older than 2 years
• No music scores, foreign publishers, foreign language
• Content meets general acquisitions profile requirements including Leisure
• Acquisitions criteria:
• Price under $100
• Can be ordered and arrive within 2 weeks, standard shipping only

ILL workflow:

• Create ILLiad queue “Being purchased/PDA” for items sent to Acquisitions. This status is viewable by the patron in their account.
• Send High Priority email to Acquisitions with patron name, title, author, publisher, date, and indicate if intended for Leisure Collection.
• If denied by Acquisitions, route to Awaiting Borrowing Processing
• If and when completed, cancel request with “Reason for Cancellation” being “Purchased/PDA”

Acquisitions workflow:

• Search for Items according to criteria. If not located or available in correct format, out of stock or print, or not able to be delivered within designated or reasonable time frame, an email will be sent notifying ILL that the item is not available for PDA.
• If available for purchase, Acquisitions flags order record for RUSH processing with notification for ILL, places hold on patron record and on Leisure Collection, if indicated. Selector will be noted as ILL/PDA.
• Acquisitions receives item, notifies ILL by email that the item is in the building, and Cataloging RUSH processes before delivering to Circulation.

Ongoing

On Wednesday, June 5, 2013 the Interlibrary Loan / Scan & Deliver Services office received a citation-less request from Laura Kennedy, a music faculty member. Dr. Kennedy is writing a historical review of “Prince Igor” by Borodin, and had come across a reference to involvement by Glazunov and Rimsky-Korsakov in the posthumous publication of the work detailed in an article in 1896 in the Russian Musical Gazette. She felt that the article might be available full-text in the RIPM database.

Turning first to the ILL ListServ, Elaina discovered that the Russian Musical Gazette was not included in the RIPM database. She was pointed to an index owned by several universities which might be of assistance. Following email exchanges with a few of these institutions who had no available librarians able to read the Russian index to search for the article, she located 7 universities in the US which had microfilm holdings of the Gazette itself. Since Dr. Kennedy reads Russian, Elaina contacted the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign to request the loan of the 1896 reel of the serial. The ILL librarian had their Slavic Research Librarians locate the article and scan it for Furman, eliminating the need for Dr. Kennedy to poke through a reel of microfilm.

This task was accomplished in just a week, with Dr. Kennedy affirming that the correct article had indeed arrived just in the nick of time to read, assimilate, and write revisions to include by her publication date.