Furman University home page
Loading...
*Politics and International Affairs: Current Events and News
Access Major Newspapers
-
New York TimesUsing this link will take you to a page where you can either create a new New York Times (NYT) account or sign in to a previously-created account. You may use your Furman or personal email address; if you have previously created a personal account, you can verify it for free access through Furman via this link.
If you've already completed this setup step, simply go directly to nytimes.com to start reading. Depending on your browser configuration, or if you're using a different computer, you may need to sign in using the link at the top right.
-
Washington Post Activation InstructionsFollow the instructions in this PDF file to set up and activate your Washington Post account and subscription.
-
Wall Street JournalUsing this link will take you to a page where you can either create a new Wall Street Journal (WSJ) account or sign in to a previously-created account. You may use your Furman or personal email address; if you have previously created a personal account, you can verify it for free access through Furman via this link.
If you are creating a new account, you will be guided through a series of questions to personalize and configure your access preferences.
If you've already completed this setup step, simply go directly to wsj.com to start reading. Depending on your browser configuration, or if you're using a different computer, you may need to sign in using the link at the top right.
Magazines
-
The Atlantic
Features articles for the general reader, reports & comments on recent events in history, humor, fiction, poetry, arts & leisure, & book reviews. -
The Economist
The Economist is a British news and current affairs journal published in a weekly print magazine format covering politics, economics, business, and technology. -
Harper's
Articles on politics, science, education, the arts, entertainment and business for a well-educated, politically active audience. -
The New Yorker
The New Yorker is an American magazine featuring journalism, commentary, criticism, essays, fiction, satire, cartoons, and poetry. -
TIME Magazine
Global news and analysis for a broad audience.
Find a topic
-
CQ ResearcherGood place to begin research on current topics. Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more. Updated weekly.
Newspapers
-
News Sources Library GuideNational, local , and internatioal newspapers--Current and historical
-
Access World News Research CollectionDiverse global, local, regional, and national perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, and web-only content.
-
Newspaper Source PlusContains more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles. Includes full text for major newspapers such as the Christian Science Monitor, San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC) and others.
-
Nexis UniNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
-
Sunday Times Historical Archive (1822-2006)Since 1822, The Sunday Times has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week’s news and society at large. In more than 800,000 pages, The Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006 is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the last 180 years.
-
Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch (ENW) is a collection of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. This resource includes unique community publications not found in any other database, as well as top scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies.
-
Independent VoicesIndependent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
-
Military and Government CollectionDesigned to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers periodicals, academic journals and other content.