Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Government Resources in the James B. Duke Library
Furman University participates in the Federal Depository Library Program, allowing us to maintain a collection of thousands of books, pamphlets, maps and journals produced by the government. Every item is listed in the library catalog and can be searched by title, author (agency that created it), subject, or keyword. Increasingly, the new items are coming as electronic versions. We maintain links to electronic/online government information through our library catalog.
The collection is open to all citizens of South Carolina's 4th Congressional District, as well as all members of the Furman community. There is no printing for guests, so bring a portable memory device.
The print government documents are located on the ground floor of the James B. Duke library in compact shelving. Microforms are in black cabinets on the main floor, near the periodicals. Many sources exist only on the internet and can be found by searching the library catalog or by using the Government Resources on the web, linked below. Please ask us to help you find the print, fiche and online items you need.
Strategies for Finding Government Information
Search broad subject areas and issues in CQ Researcher. Check the "Outlook" section for pending legislation.
Search CQ Weekly by keyword or bill number to read about current legislation before Congress. Remember if an introduced bill does not become law, it may be introduced again in a new session of Congress but it will have a new number. Use keywords and bill name to trace legislation from one session of Congress to another.
Search Congress.gov by bill number or popular name of a bill for up-to-the minute status of legislation. Once legislation is passed, it becomes law and is assigned a Public Law number. Thomas will keep track of all number changes.
Use US Congressional Serial Set Digital Collection to find historical bills and legislative histories.
Lexis-Nexis is a source for newspaper coverage of legislation and the surrounding issues.
Search Newspaper Source Plus or Lexis-Nexis to see current issues that face that state (try searching legislation AND state name). Then go to the state legislation page to get latest news on where the legislation stands.
Federal Government Resources on the Web
govinfo provides free public access to more than a million official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Gateway to 30 million pages of government information and services.
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. It includes committee reports, the Congressional record, legislation text, and more.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.
Census: Population and Demographics
The U.S. Census Bureau's American FactFinder is a source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
Code of Federal Regulations
Divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation.
Consumer Price Index
Provided by the U.S. Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics.
A portal to over 1500 federal databases. Links to historical and current documents.
Gross Domestic Product
Provided by the U.S. Department of Commerce's Bureau of Economic Analysis.
Historical Census Information
Historical Census Browser from the University of Virginia
Supreme Court Opinions
Opinions, orders, and other materials issued for the Court's 1991 Term and subsequent years. Additional volumes will be included here after they are published in print form.
Databases for Government Information
Don't Forget About Google
Federal, state, local government and military sites can be found by conducting a Google search using keywords. In addition, the full-text of many documents can be found on Google.
Including site:.gov in your Google Advanced search will limit results to federal government sites but will exclude state and local government sites.