Furman University home page
Loading...
*Health Sciences: Data & Statistics
Data Sets
- CDC Wonder DataCDC Wide-ranging ONline Data for Epidemiological Research (CDC WONDER) is a public resource. This application makes many health-related data sets available to CDC staff, public health departments, researchers, and others. The data help with public health research, decision making, priority setting, program evaluation, and resource allocation.
- Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (US)HCUPnet is a free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.
- Data.govData.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
- Health & the Environment - Socioeconomic Data and Applications CenterThe SEDAC Thematic Portal on Health provides information on recently released global data sets, publications, visualization, and analyses related to environmental health issues.
- Health, Nutrition & Population Data from The World BankData here cover health systems, disease prevention, reproductive health, nutrition, and population dynamics.
- Global Health Observatory Data RepositoryThe GHO data repository provides access to over 50 datasets on priority health topics worldwide.
- Social ExplorerSocial Explorer provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information and lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. Among other documents Social Explorer includes the entire US Census from 1790 to 2010, annual updates from the American Community Survey, the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2010 and Carbon Emissions Data for 2002 from the Vulcan Project.
Statistics
South Carolina
- S.C. DHEC Data & StatisticsHealth statistics and surveys, vital statistics, and environmental tools for South Carolina.
United States
- FastStatsFastStats provides quick access to data from the National Center for Health Statistics. Topics include diseases and conditions, injuries, life stages and populations, health care and insurance, births, and deaths.
- CDC Data & Statistics by TopicData and statistics from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention by topic from Aging to Workplace.
- Health, United StatesHealth, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics, including health status, resources, expenditures, and more.
- National Center for Health StatisticsThe Nation's principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data.
International
- World Health Organization - Data & StatisticsData and analysis related to mortality, health, sanitation, and more from around the world.
- United Nations Health StatisticsPopulation and demographics related to health from the United Nations.
- NationMasterNationMaster is a massive central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. You can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.
Resources on using Data & Statistics
Evaluation Methods in Biomedical Informatics by As information technology takes on an increasingly central role in health care and biomedical research, successful and reliable methods for evaluation become more imperative. This book is the best resource available to support discussion, development, and implementation of evaluation procedures in these settings.
Clinical Research Informatics by The purpose of the book is to provide an overview of clinical research (types), activities, and areas where informatics and IT could fit into various activities and business practices. This book will introduce and apply informatics concepts only as they have particular relevance to clinical research settings.
GIS and Public Health by Call Number: Gen Coll RA566 .C764 2012Basic GIS concepts and tools are explained, including ways to access and manage spatial databases. The book presents state-of-the-art methods for mapping and analyzing data on population, health events, risk factors, and health services, and for incorporating geographical knowledge into planning and policy.
