Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subject Specific Databases
There are dozens (and dozens) of databases that focus on just one or two subjects. You can use these subject-specific databases to really dig deep into the literature of that field. These databases will mostly include scholarly journal articles, but some also include scholarly books, dissertations, patents, book reviews, and more.
Use the drop-down below to see the "Best Bet" databases for that subject area.
Find the FUll Text
Look for the purple "FUllText?" button next to an article record in the databases. If Furman has access to that article, even if it's not in that specific database, this button will connect you with the full-text of that article.
Improve Your Search Strategy
Want to make your searching even better AND faster? Check out these short videos below. Total runtimes are indicated by parentheses.
How to use Boolean Operators to improve your search. (2:20)
It's not just for the birds! How to use nesting to group keywords to keep your results relevant. (0:41)
Tired of trying to think of all the many ways to say the same word? Truncate it! (0:33)
Learn how to use wildcards for better searching, especially in international literature. (0:26)
Use the different fields to refine and narrow your search results. (1:05)
Use subject headings to find related items quickly and easily. (1:24)