Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles from a Database
Full-text articles are available online and in print. Here are the various ways to get to full text articles available from the Furman Libraries.
- If you are looking at the article citation in a database, look for a PDF icon or the "FUll Text?" icon. Clicking on the "FUll Text?" icon will automatically start the search process below looking just for that one article.
- If the full text is available online, you will be provided with a link to the correct database. Often this will take you directly to the article.
**Note: There is often more than one Full Text from . . . link. While any of the links should take you to the article, it is best practice to start from the top and work your way down the list.
- Some articles - particularly in the sciences and psychology - may be found in a resource called ScienceDirect. If it is, the option to "Request full-text from Get it Now (for students and others without a ScienceDirect account)" will appear. Follow this link and use your Furman email address (@furman.edu) to complete the request.
- If we don't have it online, Interlibrary Loan will get a copy from another library or from our print collection. Clicking this link will populate a request form with the citation information for this article once you login to your account. You must have or create an ILLiad account to use this feature.
Some journals and books are only accessible through ScienceDirect. While we have access to these materials, it's on an individual basis.
If you are a student and you need the full-text to a journal article or book chapter in ScienceDirect, you can now make a direct request in "Get it Now." Just add the citation information to the Known Article Search and select the "Get the full-text from Get it Now" link. Enter your Furman email address (@furman.edu) and a color PDF of the article will sent to you directly, usually within a few hours. This includes nights and weekends!
If you're a faculty member, you can use the Known Article Search as well. If you would like to get a Furman account to ScienceDirect to download your own articles directly on a pay-per-view basis offered to you by the Furman Libraries, you must contact Paige Dhyne and request that she set up an account on your behalf.