Mission of the Collection Services Division of Furman University Libraries

The mission of the Furman University Library Collection Services Division is to provide the Furman community with needed research and instruction resources in the most efficient, user-friendly, and cost effective manner possible and to facilitate access to those resources.

To this end Collection Services:

• Coordinates with Outreach Services to systematically and rationally build a collection in support of the institutional mission
• Coordinates with Discovery Services to ensure that collected resources are accessible in the most user-friendly manner possible
• Orders and receives information resources in multiple formats
• Provides access to electronic resources through activation, set up, and ongoing maintenance of the library’s electronic resources management systems 
• Facilitates access to materials not owned by the Furman University Libraries through ILL/Document Delivery
• Shares resources from the Furman Library with library partners throughout the world
• Circulates hard-copy resources; monitors timely return, item condition, and need for replacement; replaces items on shelves
• Maintains collections through inventory, shifting, de-selection and weeding
• Supervises opening and closing of the Main Library, safety and maintenance of the facility and personnel support of the Science and Music Libraries.
• Participates in ongoing assessment of resources and services

Updating the Content Management Mission is a 2013-2014 Departmental Goal.

Content Management- Collection Development and Acquisitions  Mission

The mission of the Collection Development unit is to oversee the growth of the library’s collections through wise selection, judicious de-selection, and continuous evaluation. The acquisitions function produces orders, receives material, and processes invoices for all library material in all formats when it is a one-time expense.  Both members of the unit continually strive to perform their duties using the best combination of accuracy, cost-effectiveness and timeliness.  The unit also maintains financial records of transactions for all library materials in an accurate and thorough manner.

Content Management-Electronic Resources and Serials  Mission

The Electronic Resources and Serials Department serves the Furman University Library and the university community by placing orders, receiving and processing material, and processing invoices for all electronic and serial materials.   The department is also responsible for the activation and set up of all electronic resources and management of the library’s OpenURL link resolver, A to Z list, discovery service, and Electronic Resources Management System.   The Department also maintains financial records of all electronic resources transactions in an accurate and thorough manner.

The mission of the Interlibrary Loan / Scan & Deliver Department is to facilitate access to materials not owned by the Furman University Libraries. This is done in support of the study and research needs of current students, faculty and staff of Furman University. As part of its mission, the department will explore and utilize alternative avenues of access to remote resources (i.e., full-text databases, commercial document delivery sources and current awareness services.) Obtaining materials often involves requesting them from other institutions world-wide. As part of this larger interlibrary loan community, the ILL Department loans requested items from our collection to other institutions.

The circulation desk is frequently the first and last point of contact for students, faculty, staff and the community with the Furman University Library. The mission of the Circulation Department is to make all visitors to the library feel welcomed and to facilitate access to library resources. The Circulation Department does this by focusing on customer services and acting as a conduit to other departments and resources in the library.