Furman University home page
ANT 275: Feminist Anthropology: Citing
Ask a Librarian for Help Citing
Send a message anytime to libraryreference@furman.edu.
In-Person
Come by the Research Assistance Desk on your right as you enter the James B. Duke Library right in the heart of campus.
Phone
Give us a call at (864) 294-2195
Text
Send us a text message at (864) 214-7172
Chat
One does not simply "use" a source ...
Citing your sources is one of the most important parts of research. This guide will help you navigate the most common styles for citations. It will also provide access and assistance with citation managers that can help you save, organize, and cite references for large papers and projects.
If you have questions about plagiarism or citation, your professor is the best place for help. But you can also stop by the libraries for help at the Research Assistance Desk or the Writing & Media Lab.
The links below will take you into the guide for resources on plagiarism, specific styles, and citation managers.
Style Manuals
Use the links below to find hard copies of the most common style guides or perform a catalog search to find more specific styles.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by ISBN: 9781433832154Publication Date: 2019-10-01The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing.
The Chicago Manual of Style by ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017-09-05This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords.
MLA Handbook by ISBN: 9781603292627Publication Date: 2016-04-01Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list.
Citation Managers
- RefWorksCreate a personal database of references that can be organized, formatted, and shared easily. References can be imported directly from databases or text files. Generate bibliographies in hundred of styles or use Write-n-Cite to automatically insert references into your Word document.
- ZoteroZotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. You can add items with a single click in your browser and then store PDFs, images, audio and more in a single searchable interface.
- MendeleyMendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. You can generate bibliographies, collaborate, import papers, and access your information from anywhere online.