Furman University home page
Loading...
Resources for Dependents: Elementary School (K - 5th)
A guide to library services, databases, and other resources for K-12 students of Furman Employees.
Elementary School Resources
- TumbleBookLibraryThe TumbleBookLibrary collection features over 1,400 titles, including story books, graphic novels, non-fiction selections, National Geographic videos, language learning items, and more. TumbleBooks are created by taking existing picture books and adding animation, sound, music and narration to produce an electronic picture book which you can read or have read to you. TBL also includes National Geographic videos and games.
- NoveList K-8 PlusFind your child’s next favorite book! Novelist makes it easy to find books that are similar to each other. Browse by reading level, genre, and even by appeal terms like “sarcastic characters”, “strong female”, and many more!
-
James B Duke Library Books
100s of popular books and graphic novels are available in our collection and can be borrowed! Contact a librarian if you have any questions.
- Books and Authors (Gale)For many patrons, finding a book that interests them can be time-consuming. Match their reading interests with Gale Books and Authors, a reader’s advisory database that makes finding a great read much less challenging. With fun ways to browse, an intuitive design, read-alikes, reviews, award winners and themed book lists, and more this resource answers the age-old question, “What do I read next?”
- Tutor.comGet personalized help from expert tutors, take practice quizzes, and more. Tutor.com provides resources to help your child excel in math, science, social studies, reading, and writing!
- TumbleMathExciting math picture books your child will love! Educators have long known that one of the most effective ways to teach math concepts, especially to reluctant learners, is by using stories and literature.TumbleMath is the most comprehensive collection of math picture books you will find anywhere. All in the amazing TumbleBook format complete with animation and narration.
- Khan AcademyKhan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computing, history, art history, economics, and more, including K-14 and test preparation (SAT, Praxis, LSAT) content. We focus on skill mastery to help learners establish strong foundations, so there's no limit to what they can learn next!
- Tutor.comGet personalized help from expert tutors, take practice quizzes, and more. Tutor.com provides resources to help your child excel in math, science, social studies, reading, and writing!
- Kids InfoBitsDesigned especially for students in kindergarten through grade five. Complete with a developmentally appropriate graphic interface, reference content and magazines for elementary students.
- Khan AcademyKhan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computing, history, art history, economics, and more, including K-14 and test preparation (SAT, Praxis, LSAT) content. We focus on skill mastery to help learners establish strong foundations, so there's no limit to what they can learn next!
- Tutor.comGet personalized help from expert tutors, take practice quizzes, and more. Tutor.com provides resources to help your child excel in math, science, social studies, reading, and writing!
- CultureGramsCultureGrams are country reports that provide snapshots of the world’s cultures.
Each U.S. state, the District of Columbia, and the 13 Canadian provinces are included, with reports containing maps, flags, symbols, history, economy, geography, population, and more. - Kids InfoBitsDesigned especially for students in kindergarten through grade five. Complete with a developmentally appropriate graphic interface, reference content and magazines for elementary students.
- Tutor.comGet personalized help from expert tutors, take practice quizzes, and more. Tutor.com provides resources to help your child excel in math, science, social studies, reading, and writing!
- Kids InfoBitsDesigned especially for students in kindergarten through grade five. Complete with a developmentally appropriate graphic interface, reference content and magazines for elementary students.
Miles Dame
Miles Dame
he, him, his
Contact:
3300 Poinsett Highway
Greenville, SC 29613
James B. Duke Library Room 133A
Greenville, SC 29613
James B. Duke Library Room 133A
864-294-3203