Provides clear and concise definitions and explanations of key concepts. Addresses materials that have historically defined the discipline, as well as more recent developments. Introduces sociological theories and research that have developed outside of the United States and Western Europe. Includes over 1800 entries ranging from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics.

Presents research and facts from the fields of psychology, individual and family studies, and education. Includes over 600 entries covering topics such as adolescence, cognitive development, education, family, gender differences, identity, longitudinal research, personality development, prenatal development, and temperament.

Provides an entry point into all of the existing literature on child development from numerous fields of study. Focuses on the developmental changes, when they occur, why they occur, how they occur, and those factors that influence that development. Emphasis is on normal growth and is primarily from a psychological perspective.

Successor to Macmillan's International Encyclopedias of Population. Provides expanded, up-to-date coverage of demographic topics in population studies. Topics covered include: rapid demographic expansion in poor countries, low fertility rates and problems of old-age support, the environmental impact of dense population; the press for expanded reproductive rights; and more.

Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level. Examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; and of social institutions and the structures of representation. Topics include changing conceptions of "the feminine," the family and masculinity, religion, morality, cultural images, medical practice, public health, economy and society and more. Also discusses the influences of gender studies on various academic disciplines

Provides information about antagonism and reconciliation in all contexts of public and personal life. Covers topics such as arms control, peace movements, child abuse, folklore, terrorism and political assassinations.

Lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.

Covers topics ranging from fast food and fitness fads to political events and literary genres. Emphasis on ideas, people, events and products that symbolize America. Major topics include: television, movies, theater, art, books, magazines, radio, music, sports, fashion, health, politics, trends, community life and advertising. Includes entries on: Aerobics, Barbie®, Catcher in the Rye, Graffiti, The Grateful Dead, The Mary Tyler Moore Show, Legos®, Polio, The Saturday Evening Post, and more.

Contains 152 original essays (about 8,000-12,000 words each) on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. Covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish. Includes more than 250 photographs and illustrations.