Furman University home page
Loading...
SOC 470: Qualitative Research Seminar
Outreach Librarian
If you're not yielding the results you desire, try out these tips:
- Revisit your keyword map
- If you're struggling with keywords, use suggested indexed terms provided by the database.
- Check your database filter settings
- If you're searching using phrases, be sure to use parentheses and quotation marks.
- Check the spelling of your keywords
- Use Boolean Operators to yield the results you're looking to find. Keep in mind, the more specific you are with your search, it will narrow your results.
- Visit the Research Assistance Desk at James B. Duke Library. Let's collaborate to find a solution.
Apply your Search
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. It contains indexing for 8,172 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 of those titles.
- E-Duke JournalsThe e-Duke Journals Scholarly Collections provide online access to 38 Duke University Press journals in the humanities and social sciences.
- JSTORJSTOR is a scholarly journal archive which provides full image access to articles from over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles. JSTOR goes back to the very first issue of each journal (many of them in the 19th Century), but does not include the most recent five years.
- Social Sciences Full TextThis source indexes a wide variety of sources related to the social sciences including sociology, family studies, public administration, social work, etc.
Web Resources
Searching the web can be tough to navigate. Try searching using this prefix site:. You can add domain names like .gov, .org, or .edu to find websites that fit your research needs.
- site:.edu governmentality AND "reality television programs" AND makeover
- site:.gov "cultural views" AND ("reality tv" OR "reality television")
- site:.org "viewer perception" AND ("reality tv" OR "reality television") AND Queer Eye