Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archives Unbound Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents. Collections cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
Archives Unbound contains collections of scanned, searchable documents. Some that may be of interest to Middle Eastern and Islamic studies are:
- Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files
- Afghanistan in 1919: The Third Anglo-Afghan War
- British Campaign in Mesopotamia, 1914-1918
- Cyprus Crisis in 1967
- Democracy in Turkey, 1950-1959: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
- European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: French Colonialism in Africa: From Algeria to Madagascar, 1910-1930
- Evangelism and the Syria-Lebanon Mission: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1869-1910
- King and People in Morocco, 1950-1959: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Morocco
- Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970
- Middle East Online: Iraq, 1914-1974
- Records of the Persian Gulf War
- U.S. Middle East Peace Policy and America’s Role in the Middle East Peace Process, 1989-1993
- U.S. and Iraqi Relations: U.S. Technical Aid, 1950-1958
Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) Created in collaboration with the National Security Archive, this database is a comprehensive collection available of primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Contains declassified government documents. Includes 33 collections consisting of over 80,000 indexed documents, with more than 500,000 total pages.
1945 - present
DNSA contains scanned, searchable documents, many of which were formerly classified. They require a fairly specific knowledge of the subject for good searching. Use Advanced Search and enter search terms and then click on the specific collection within which you want to search. Some that may be of interest:
- Intelligence After 9/11
- Iran Revolution
- Weapons of Mass Destruction
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Simultaneously search more than a dozen major historical American newspapers, including the largest circulating African-American newspapers.
Times Digital Archive [London] 1785-1985 Full Image Full-image online archive of every page published by The Times [London]. The archive covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Provides the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertising.