Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Global Health
Offers a truly global approach by giving the current health status in each country of five continents. Compares the mortality rates of infectious diseases and non-communicable diseases in developing and developed countries. Presents a historical context for important changes and issues in global health and serves as a foundation of knowledge. Examines how mental health and related conditions in developing countries are increasing toward the level in developed countries.
Health Care Systems Around the World
This concise reference provides a one-stop point of research that examines major aspects of health care systems for over 190 countries worldwide. Each country is presented on a two- or three-page spread with the same descriptive and statistical content, allowing readers to compare health care systems from country to country.
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology
The Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology is unique because it is the first reference work to describe the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and to provide an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.
The SAGE Handbook of Healthcare
The SAGE Handbook of Healthcare provides an authoritative analysis of the current (and anticipated) developments in the global healthcare industries. Providing a unique perspective that interfaces between the science and business aspects, it combines information on the latest scientific developments with applied, commercial business data from the global marketplace.
A Dictionary of Public Health
The Dictionary of Public Health is an alphabetical listing of almost 5,000 words and phrases used in public health science and practice. It offers definitions, discussion, and an occasional brief commentary on the relevance of each term to people and their health.
Encyclopedia of Public Health
The Encyclopedic Reference of Public Health presents the most important definitions, principles and general perspectives of public health, written by experts of the different fields.
Encyclopedia of Health Services Research
Health services research investigates the relationship between the factors of cost, quality, and access to healthcare and their impact upon medical outcomes (i.e., death, disease, disability, discomfort, and dissatisfaction with care). In addition to considering racial and ethnic differences, cross-cultural reference is made as appropriate to other countries and other systems of healthcare.
Overviews & Background
Read about symptoms, causes, treatment and prevention for over 900 diseases, illnesses, health conditions and wellness issues from the National Institutes of Health.
Websites & Associations for Background
Find more background sources in the catalog by adding your keyword(s) to this reference-specific search: