Furman University home page
Loading...
HST 223: Nineteenth Century America: Primary Documents Sites
Try these for Diaries and Manuscripts
- Mexico: Photographs, Manuscripts, and ImprintsProvided by Southern Methodist University Central Libraries
- University of Arizona Special CollectionsIncludes scanned letters, photographs and books from several 19th and early 20th century personal collections.
- Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930 presents the investigations made during the massive immigration wave at the turn of the 20th century. The files cover Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930; and European immigration.
- Southern Historical CollectionAt the Louis Round Wilson Library at UNC-Chapel Hill.
Select Advanced Search then enter keywords.
When you open the collection select "directly to all the digitized content for this collection" in the Digitized Content box at the top. - Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880Comprised of selections from the microfilm collections Travels in the West and Southwest and the Plains & Rockies, this digital collection provides a unique window on Western History. Selections are based on the bibliographies, The Plains and Rockies: A Critical Bibliography of Exploration, Adventure, and Travel in the American West, 1800-1865, and The Trail West: A Bibliography-Index to Western American Trails, 1841-1869.
- Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930 (Harvard Open Collections)By incorporating diaries, biographies, and other writings capturing diverse experiences, the collected material provides a window into the lives of ordinary immigrants.
- Expeditions and Discoveries-(At least three are North American)The fourth in a series of online collections from Harvard University, Expeditions and Discoveries delivers maps, photographs, and published materials, as well as field notes, letters, and a unique range of manuscript materials on selected expeditions between 1626 and 1953.
- Southeastern Native American DocumentsSoutheastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842, contains approximately 2,000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States from the collections of the University of Georgia Libraries, the University of Tennessee at Knoxville Library, the Frank H. McClung Museum, the Tennessee State Library and Archives, the Tennessee State Museum and the Museum of the Cherokee Indian. The documents are comprised of letters, legal proceedings, military orders
- Maps of the AmericasUnited States, South America, Canada, and Central America maps form the Perry-Castaneda Library at University of Texas-Austin
Primary Sources- Books 1473-1700--Many First-Hand Accounts and Diaries
- Early English Books OnlineContains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Early Americas Digital ArchiveA collection of electronic texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820... Published and supported by the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH) at the University of Maryland.
U.S. Government Primary Documents
- US Congressional Serial Set Digital CollectionProvides comprehensive, full-text access to Congressional and Executive branch documents and reports published in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set from 1789-Present. The Serial Set Digital Collection also provides full text access to the entire American State Papers series.
- Congressional Service and Historical Indexes, 1789 - 1984Provides access to historic and current congressional information. Includes the full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, and the full text of public laws and other research materials.
19th Century Articles and Personal Accounts
- Making of AmericaProvides access to 267 monographs and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
- American Periodicals SeriesDigitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
- Southern Literary Messenger: Literature of the Old SouthThe Southern Literary Messenger enjoyed an impressive thirty-year run and was in its time the South’s most important literary periodical. Avowedly a southern publication, the Southern Literary Messenger was also the one literary periodical published that was widely circulated and respected among a northern readership. Deomstrates how the hot-button topics of slavery and secession were presented in southern intellectual and literary culture in the early stages of the Civil War.