Furman University home page
Loading...
HST 156: India in the Modern World: Primary Sources
Books & More
Use the library's catalog to find books (and more) available here at Furman. If you are looking for a specific item, try searching by title or author to find it fast.
Primary & Historical Documents About India
- India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949: Records of the U.S. State DepartmentThis collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of the Subcontinent between 1945 and 1949, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned India in the postwar period.
- India, Raj and EmpireDrawing upon the wonderfully rich and diverse manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland this resource will be of great value to all those teaching or researching into the History of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947
- Global Missions and TheologyThis collection documents the broad range of Nineteenth Century religious missionary activities, practices and thought in the United States by reproducing pivotal personal narratives, organizational records, and biographies of the essential leaders, simple missionaries, and churches. In addition, it highlights activities in far-flung regions and countries, such as Africa, Fiji and Sandwich Islands, India, China, Southeast Asia, Japan, and Hawaii.
- Medical History of British IndiaFrom the National Library of Scotland. The Medical History of British India collection consists of official publications varying from short reports to multi-volume histories related to disease, public health and medical research between circa 1850 to 1920.
- The Indian Army and Colonial Warfare on the Frontiers of India, 1914-1920This collection contains Army Lists; Orders; Instructions; Regulations; Acts; Manuals; Strength Returns; Orders of Battle; Administration Summaries; organization, commissions, committees, reports, maneuvers; departments of the Indian Army; and regimental narratives.
- India and its NeighborsU.C.L.A. Social Sciences
- The Hindu Conspiracy Cases: Activities of the Indian Independence Movement in the U.S., 1908-1933During World War I, Indian nationalists took advantage of Great Britain’s preoccupation with the European war by attempting to foment revolution in India to overthrow British rule. Their activities were aided politically and financially by the German Government. Indian nationalists in the United States were active in the independence movement effort through fundraising, arms buying, and propagandizing through the Hindustan Ghadar newspaper published in San Francisco.
- First World War (Adam Matthew)Under "Popular Searches" chose Indians
- Internet Indian History SourcebookProvided by Fordham University.
Special Collections Webguides
The following webguides contain primary sources as well as some secondary sources. Most of the primary sources are housed in the library's Special Collections and Archives Department located on the 2nd floor of the library.
Databases Containing Primary Sources
- Early English Books OnlineContains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)Including over 180,000 (200,00 volumes) English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of works from the Americas. With full-text search capabilities this resource incorporates canonical titles of the period as well as contemporary works that analyze and debate those titles.
- AM ExplorerThis database includes access to 100 Titles across 64 unique Primary Source Digital Collections from Adam Matthew. Topics range from Medical Services and Warfare to Shakespeare, from Victorian Popular Culture to Jewish Life in America.
- ArtstorChooose Enter Artstor Digital Library. Under SEARCH select Advanced Search. Choose Style or Period under the dropdown arrow. Type in Mughal and 1600 CE to 1800 CE in the date field. You should have more than 2,000 results.
- Internet Indian History SourcebookFrom Fordham University
- Ancient Indus Valley and British Raj in India and PakistanImages and sounds providing glimpses of South Asia prior to 1947.
- Bhagat Singh Internet ArchiveBhagat Singh is widely hailed as a martyr as a result of his execution at the hands of oppressors and, as such, he is often referred to as “Shaheed (Martyr) Bhagat Singh.”
- Centre for South Asian Studies-Oral HistoriesThis University of Cambridge collection contains spoken word as well as music recordings.
- Digital South Asia LibraryMaterials related to South Asia, including maps, statistics, photographs, and official publications.
- Digital South Asia Library: MapsCatalog of maps and maps themselves, ranging from historical to topographic.
- Mutiny at the Margins: The Indian Uprising of 1857'Mutiny at the Margins' was a two-year project, funded by the Arts & Humanities Research Council (AHRC) and located in the School of History & Classics at Edinburgh University, which aimed to provide long overdue new perspectives on the Indian Uprising of 1857.
- South Asia Missionary Archives GuideA preliminary guide to archival collections relating to American Protestant missionary activity in South Asia (including Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Burma/Myanmar, Ceylon/Sri Lanka, India, Nepal, and Pakistan) with a focus on the holdings of undergraduate liberal arts colleges in the United States.
- Statistical Abstracts Relating to India: 1840-1920These statistics are provided in 10-year intervals and can be viewed in book form or as in Excel format.