Furman University home page
FYW: First World War: Articles
Best Bets for Articles
- America: History & LifeHistorical coverage of the United States and Canada from over 2000 English language journals. Also includes book reviews.
- Historical AbstractsCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), featuring coverage of academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. Over 22,000 new abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations are added to the database annually.
- British Periodicals I,II,III, and IVTraces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals' and beyond. Consists of more than 460 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s, comprising more than two centuries of British history and culture.
- American Periodicals SeriesDigitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
- JSTORJSTOR is a scholarly journal archive which provides full image access to articles from over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles. JSTOR goes back to the very first issue of each journal (many of them in the 19th Century), but does not include the most recent five years.
- Periodicals Archive OnlinePeriodicals Archive Online provides a digital archive of over 750 historically respected, international journals in the humanities and social sciences, spanning more than two centuries of content. Over 750 historically respected journals are provided from volume 1, issue 1, with titles selected by an expert editorial team.
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. It contains indexing for 8,172 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 of those titles.
- Readers’ Guide RetrospectiveThe Readers' Guide Retrospective indexes the most popular, general-interest journals and magazines published in the United States from 1890 to 1982.
- Women’s Studies InternationalCovers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.
- Humanities Full TextH.W. Wilson's Humanities databases cover nearly 400 English language periodicals in the diverse subject areas of the humanities. Among the disciplines included are literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.
- The Modernist Journals ProjectA joint project of Brown University and the University of Tulsa
The Modernist Journals Project is a multi-faceted project that aims to be a major resource for the study of modernism and its rise in the English-speaking world, with periodical literature as its central concern. The historical scope of the project has a chronological range of 1890 to 1922, and a geographical range that extends to wherever English language periodicals were published.
Finding the Full-Text
Need help getting the full-text of an article? Follow the options and instructions below to learn how to access articles online, in-print, and request them from other libraries.
Option 1: Full Text
Look for the purple "FUllText?" button next to an article record in the databases. If Furman has access to that article, even if it's not in that specific database, this button will connect you with the full-text of that article.
Option 2: Known Item Finder
Know the citation information for the resources you need? Fill in the details on the Known Item Finder to see if we have online access through the Furman University Libraries or if you need to make a request through Interlibrary Loan.
Option 3: Google Scholar
Sometimes articles are freely available on Google Scholar, but you can also setup Library Links in your Google Scholar Account to link out to our "FUll Text?" finder. Watch this quick instructional video on Setting Up Furman FUll Text Links in Google Scholar.
Military Articles
- Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War (1914 - 1919)Access to Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War from 1914 - 1919.
Search Tools & Tutorials
 |
Not finding enough on your topic? Not finding anything on your topic? Are you using the best keywords and concepts to describe what you're looking for? Brainstorming the different words and phrases used to describe your topic is one the most helpful things you can do to start your research. It gets you really thinking about your topic and the ways it can be approached. |
| cc licensed ( BY ) flickr photo shared by andymangold |
If you're having trouble getting the storm started, try reading a few encyclopedia articles. Look for keywords in the article and the different ways it's described there. Also check out the Reference List or Works Cited for more information on topic.
Want to make your searching even better AND faster? Check out these short videos below.
- Boolean OperatorsHow to use Boolean Operators to improve your search. (2:20)
- NestingHow to use nesting to group keywords to keep your results relevant. (0:41)
- TruncationTired of trying to think of all the many ways to say the same word? Truncate it! (0:33)
- WildcardsLearn how to use wildcards for better searching, especially in international literature. (0:26)