Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FYW: Ethical Social and Political Issues in Star Wars: Background Information

Quick Tip

Look up your keywords in subject encyclopedias. Read articles in these encyclopedias to set the context for your research. Note any additional keywords for additional searches.  Keep an eye out for relevant items in the references at the end of the encyclopedia articles.

Online Encyclopedias

A good exercise to get to know your topic is to read articles on it from a few different types of encyclopedias.  You might start by searching for information in a general encyclopedia like Encyclopedia Britannica.

 

Next, compare the depth and quality to what you find in specialized encyclopedias such as those found in the Credo Reference Suite.

 

Credo Logo

 

Also check out the Reference List or Works Cited in each article for more information on topic.

Find More

Find more background sources in the catalog by adding your keyword(s) to this reference-specific search:

Selected Sources - Science Fiction

The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction (online) 3rd edition, this well-known online resource attempts to be a comprehensive, scholarly, and critical guide to science fiction in all its forms.

Selected Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Reference Sources

Selected Political Reference Sources

Selected Reference Sources for Philosophy and Ethics