Furman University home page
Loading...
ENG 350: American Novel from Its Beginnings to World War I - Shackelford: Primary Sources
Research resources to support ENG 350
Historical Newspapers and Other Periodicals
- Proquest Historical NewspapersSearches multiple historical newspapers, including the Atlanta Constitution, L.A. Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, Christian Science Monitor, and more.
- America’s Historical NewspapersProvides access to early American newspapers from 1690 to1922. Offers over 2000 searchable historical American newspapers. Focuses largely on the 18th and early 19th century newspapers from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Also includes African American newspapers from 1827 to 1998.
- African American Newspapers
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Features papers from more than 35 states—including significant 19th century titles.
- Humanities and Social Sciences RetrospectiveIndexes nearly 1,200 periodicals, as far back as 1907. Citations to more than 1,300,000 articles, including over 240,000 book reviews. Indexes scholarly journals published throughout the 20th century in North America and Europe. In addition to coverage of the humanities and social sciences, the database covers many scientific journals through the 1950's.
- Readers’ Guide RetrospectiveThe Readers' Guide Retrospective indexes the most popular, general-interest journals and magazines published in the United States from 1890 to 1982.
Find more
To find FANTASTIC primary sources such as letters and diaries of your author, put your author's name in the search widget below. (For those obsessed with the power of search techniques, what this is doing is combining the author's name with the keywords "(letter* OR diar* or sources)